Switzerland Days 3 & 4 on Tour


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
June 5th 2015
Published: June 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,



I am in the beautiful Swiss alps rounding out a fantastic day 4 of my Top Deck trip. I am so impressed with the landscape and the villages here it makes me want to buy some cows and start making cheese.

Day 3: We left early from our hotel in Paris boarding the coach for about a 10hr trip across the boarder to the stunning mountains and lakes of Switzerland, the bus ride was very long and knowing myself I should have had the fore thought to wear some uber sexy compression stockings to stop my ankles from swelling up like soft balls, alas I did not and after a few hours my feet and ankles where swollen to the point of a pregnant woman in her third trimester. After the long day in Paris and getting back late from cabaret the trip in was a quiet one, we stopped a couple times including once for lunch provided by the tour which was a fantastic selection of salads and desserts (when in France!) and arrived late in the afternoon at our hostel in the lovely town of Interlaken a short train ride from Jungfrau the highest point in Europe. We settled in, exchanging our euros for franks and went to the hostel restaurant for dinner were we had cheese fondue for starters and bratwurst and Rossi for mains, which was delicious. After dinner we got our first chance to head out and experience some local night life with happy hour starting at 9pm and dancing for hours. Conveniently the local underground club was located at our hostel which made for a great time in a prime location.

There are a couple of things to know about when you're visiting Switzerland, in thee summer the temperature can reach upwards of 30 degrees with humidity to make it uncomfortable and the sun doesn't set until well after 10pm at night and it rises before 6am in the morning. It is very difficult to acclimatise when the sun is always up and lastly the Swiss frank is doing fantastically well in the currency market so everything is very expensive.

Day 4 had the offer of sky diving or catching the train to the top on Jungfrau both costing a pretty penny, neither of which where particularly appealing to me. The idea of jumping out of a perfectly good helicopter makes me want to cringe, especially since one of the girls who did end up doing it had to use the emergency chute as her main one failed, and if I had caught the 2.5hr train ride (each way) to go to the top of the mountain I would have lost my entire day in Switzerland. Instead I decided to stay back and explore the town, I walked around the village which is so clean and cute, I bought a Swiss Army knife and went to the local Hooters for cocktails and onion rings (yum!). Toward the later afternoon my tour group started to return, I had a rest in preparation for my final night in the Swiss alps, we had dinner of pasta and chicken with apple strudel for dessert. As with any large group of people you are bound to have different personalities and ideas of fun, however most of the group got involved in playing cards against humanity and having a few quiet drinks on our last night in Switzerland, it was great fun and it is so funny to see the reactions from people who have never played before. We didn't end up going to the club, instead deciding to hangout and get to know some of the people we would be spending the rest of our tour with. It was a fantastic way to end the night and I can't wait to head to our next destination Avignon in France.

Swiss Alps 7.5/10



Until next time

-K

Advertisement



6th June 2015

Awesome
Hi K.....sounds like you are having a fab time....enjoy XXXX
6th June 2015

Awesome
Hi K.....sounds like you are having a fab time....enjoy XXXX

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb