Switzerland Part 2!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
May 17th 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 4
Today we were supposed to be heading to Lucerne but we decided we were enjoying Interlaken too much some stayed an extra night! The plan was to head up another mountain and do some fun activities but we stopped in at a bike hire place before and got told that the lifts up the mountain were closed because of overnight snow. They were running a tour we had wanted to do so we decided to go with them and I am SO glad we did! We did bike tour up to Lauterbrunnan and to see the waterfalls. Not only was it a bike tour, it was an electric bike tour! The bikes have electronic assist which you can adjust depending to how much assistance you want! Now I am no bike rider so I was grateful when 2 oldies rocked up to do the tour with us as well. There were 5 of us in total and our tour guide Frank. We set off and immediately I loved it. The electronic assist was brilliant for me as I am not a brilliant bike rider and it was quite hilly. Our tour guide was amazing and knew everything about Interlaken. The ride was a bit of road, dirt and gravel tracks along the sides of rivers, through fields and around the mountains. The scenery was incredible! We stopped every now and again for Frank to explain some things, show us some interesting places and let the oldies catch up! They were pretty unpredictable to ride behind so it was often a race to get started off before them!

We got to a large waterfall (I can't remember it's name) but you could climb up and take a walk behind it. Our tour guide had said you don't get very wet, well I guess he hadn't taken the wind into consideration because we got saturated!! Lunch was a picnic at the bottom of the mountains near a waterfall. We had delicious bread, cheese and Swiss salami... So good! We took of towards the Trummelbach waterfalls which were a series of waterfalls inside a mountain! You take a lift up halfway and then walk the rest. The waterfalls were amazing! Then the best part.... A coffee stop!! FINALLY good coffee!! The ride home was mostly down hill and on the first hill down the oldies bailed! Too scary so they rode back to the town and caught a train. Fine with us coz we powered done! I got up to 45.5 km/hr before I got a bit frightened! Chris clocked the fastest at 55km/hr. I can't describe how great a day it really was. The photos just don't do it justice!

When we got back we were picked up to be taken paragliding. Such a small world as our driver had married an Adelaide girl and his son (my pilot) was born in Adelaide! Hilarious! I was first to take off and it was so much more peaceful than I thought. Unfortunately though due to the wind conditions we lost a bit too much height too quickly and so I only had a short flight. Chris on the other hand had a great flight and his pilot did a few spins and turns with him which he loved. My pilot felt bad so he took me up again for free! The second time was amazing! It almost made me want to learn to do it myself, that is how much I loved it. He finished with some spins which were crazy fun!! If it wasn't so pricey, I would have gone again!! Absolutely brilliant day which we finished off with another delicious Thai dinner!!

Day 5

Our last day in Interlaken! I was a bit sad because we were having so much fun! First things first though, we headed back to that coffee shop!! A couple of brownies and 4 coffees later we headed of to Grindlewald. We caught a cable car up to the top of First mountain which was covered in snow!! Up the top we traipsed through the snow towards a zip line. It is a 250m long cable down the side of the mountain. So we strapped in and zipped down. Apparently you get up to about 80 km/hr. Good fun! Bit fresh though with all that snow around!! Next activity was trottibikes! They are scooters with bigger wheels and brakes! We rode down the rest of the mountain. It took me a few minutes to get the hang of it but after that it was great fun! You can get pretty fast on those things!! Unfortunately that was where our time ran out and we had to catch the train back. As we were heading to Paris the next day we caught the train to Basel which is right next to the border of France for the night ready for our next country tomorrow! We had so much fun in Interlaken I would definitely love to come back! So many more things to do!! Switzerland is certainly on my places to return to!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb