Going home early...for all the RIGHT reasons!!!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
August 14th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

WOW!!! That is basically the only way I can describe the last two days of my life!!!!! I arrived in Switzerland yesterday morning and before I even put my bags in my room, I went to check out all of the extreme sports that they offer. Before I knew it, I was signed up to go bungy jumping at 4:00 THAT DAY!!!! I was going to do the smaller one, but decided to just go for it all the way! I jumped from a gondola over a lake at 480 feet!!!!! That's the second highest bungy jump in the WORLD!!!!! It was the most insane thing EVER!!! I was scared and excited and my heart was pounding and I LOVED IT!!!! I don't think I've ever done anything like it...it was so much different than skydiving. You get the whole stomach drop feeling and you can see the water just coming at you!!! I recommend it to anyone and I would definately do it again!!!! I got some great pics that I'm going to try and put up this week. When I got back to my hostel, I heard people talking about "canyoning" which is basically a mixture of rock climbing, repelling, cliff jumping, sliding and hiking. So I decided, hell I'm here, why not.....so I signed up and at 7 this morning...there I was, wet suit and all getting ready for something I had NO idea about....I think this was even crazier than bungy jumping!!!! We start off having to jump off cliffs....kinda like the ones I did In Hawaii.... .but there were crazy waterfalls and rocks all around. Basically every time you jump, you have to aim for a certain spot because you jump between cliffs and into whirlpools and craziness!!! Cassie, you would have love it! Mom, you would have freaked watching it and Russ and Jake, I think you would have shit your pants haha.....I was even scared. Then we have to slide down these rock slides with twists, turns, waterfalls and drops. You never know what to expect when you start because you can't see the bottom!!! Then we had to repel ourselves down a basically vertical wall and on one, we were attached to a rope, half was a slide and half was being lowered 60 feet into a waterfall by just a little rope!!! Everything was crazy and amazing....I can't keep saying enough how NUTS this was!!! The water was freezing and it was so scary and fun at the same time. For those of you who know my fear of being underwater....well....I don't think I've ever hated and loved something at the same time so much in my life!!! I was scared out of my mind but felt like I conquered the world!!!! It was a 5 hour journey through the canyons, it was exhausting and expensive and worth every single emotion and penny!!!! So needless to say, I went a little over my budget, but don't care...for those experiences, I'd come home tomorrow ( it will prob just have to be mid-october now but that's fine with me....this is why I'm here!!! Interlaken is beautiful as well!!! the swiss Alps are outside my hostel door, the weather is amazing and there are just hills and snow-capped mountains and lakes everywhere! The people are all so nice...I never want to leave!!!! I'm glad I'm here for a few more days....Sunday I go to Paris, but for now I'm just going to fully enjoy it here!!!!! Well like I said, internet is AWFULLLY expensive so I'm trying to type this real fast.....I'll try to get back on....if not....talk to you from Paris!!! xoxox

Advertisement



14th August 2008

I told you
I told you that you would LOVE it there!! It's great isn't it? I can't believe you canyoned....I was terrified of that when I was there! That's so awesome that you did it though....AND bungee jumping! I had a heart attack just watching my friends do it. Go down a couple of doors and rent a bike and ride around the town, you will stumble upon the weirdest things. And they have a hooters across the way that we came upon if you are craving chicken wings :) Love youuuu!
14th August 2008

WOW...
So I sent you a private message if it worked to give you my address, Im sorry Ive sucked at keeping up with this, I was in Key West and tried to be MIA for a bit... But now Im counting down, I go back to Tampa TOMORROW and haven't packed a bit... oops! Bennigan's is gone, Im so sad. I miss you and Maggie and Devin SO MUCH. Im going to Matt Nathanson, and you'd be awfully proud-- Im skipping the idea of OAR is Charleston--- yah, Im blowing him off... for Matt Nathanson at the Social. MUAH I cannot wait for you to be back!!!!
14th August 2008

i would have done it
celina, i miss you. ok got that out of the way. i would have done it lol deff. maybe lol. yore nuts but thats why youre on this trip right? dont hold anything back celina. just be safe too ill comment a couple more of yours tonght prob. groundation sucks!!!!!!! so boreeddd. Thats insane though about the jump thats awewsome the bungee jump must have been so intense lol. I will talk to you soon celina love you miss you
14th August 2008

oh my God
I just read your blog about bungee jumping andswitzerland. glad you talked and wrote after you did it cause you scared me just listening on the phone which i was thrilled about then reading your detailed message - scared me to an irregular heart beat (just kidding about the heart beat) but i felt overwhelmed and thrilled for you. know what you mean by the thrill of your life. nothing can possibly compare with that. keep us posted. i check daily. love you and miss you. love gram
15th August 2008

Crazy!
That sounds absolutely intense... I don't know if i could do the bungee jump, but I would LOVE to cliff dive and rock climb! Can't wait to see pictures... That's awesome that you over came your fear of the water... How was the train ride? Did your Ipod last?.. That's gotta be great that your hostel looks out to the Alps. So peaceful... Wanna know what my window looks out too... A Freakin Palm Tree!! lol ohhhh Florida...Anyways, I'm glad your trip picked up and I hope you have a safe trip to France. Can't wait to hear from you. Miss and Love you always
15th August 2008

My fav Niece
Well Well Well....I finally got the link to your blog, you are one amazing young lady for doing this. I wouldnt go 480 fet off the ground much less jump TOWARDS the ground. Sounds like your having so much fun. Instead of working I have been catching up on you for the last hour or so, I am tired just reading it, I cant imagine experiencing it. I will keep checking in on this adventure your on. Please take good care of you, I miss you, and I love you always.
15th August 2008

i wanna do that. er you suck soooo much. irdsdkgfkdjgkdfgkj STOP HAVING FUN AND COME HOME NOW!! ..jk.but for real im jealous.love youuuu.
18th August 2008

lol
you are nuts girl but im not surprised!! Gee i thought going white water rafting in CO was extreme but you blew me away! Im jealous ur in Swiss...i love it there and I know how beautiful it is!!
18th August 2008

I almost forgot!
Sooo...I went to the Bucs Pats game yesterday and it was interesting. I was so pumped to get my jersey on again and go to the store and buy all the food and beer! We got there and tailgated and everything was great we even found shade so it wasnt too too hot. Then we went to the game and once again Mr.Kraft got us ridiculous seats right behind the pats bench on the 50 yard line like 15 rows up...we saw Yoder and Knox again! ha So then we start sucking really bad. I mean the Bucs just owned us the entire game. I know it was only preseason but it hurt to watch us lose so badly..it brought me back to the superbowl. I was drunk of course to so by the end of the game i was depressed ha. My dad thinks Belichick did it on purpose to throw everyone off cuz i mean we looked BADDD! Alright well im bought to go to the store and stock up on water cuz theres a tropical storm hitting us tomorrow! fun fun! :) miss ya

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb