Interlaken Exploring


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken » Matten bei Interlaken
September 6th 2012
Published: December 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After the Poi retreat was over we said our good bies and hopped on a train to Interlaken. We ended up staying at a pretty nice hostel close to the main train station so it wasn't too much of a hassle to find the place. After we dropped off our bags we went exploring down all the back streets for some good local food. What we found was and still is the best pizza I have ever had. It was incredibly flavorful, unlike anything in the states I've had so far. Perhaps when I make it to Italy some day I may change my mind but that's my story and i'm sticking to it for now.

The view of the mountians in Interlaken was surreal, it felt like being on a movie set or something. There was a race going on while we were there. We managed to catch a beautiful combination of scenering, paragliders and racing before heading back to the hostel to rest up for canyoning the next day.

Canyoning, I must admit I was afraid to do it, so much I had to go kicking and screaming pretty much. But once we started I calmed down. We started by rappelling down into the canyons on rock climbing gear so I felt at home. After that were were taken through jumps, and slides galrore into FREEZING water. Brrrr!

My favorite one imperticular was a zipline dropping you into a cold pool of glarier water, it was thrilling.

The next day we decided to rent bikes and head to the lake nearby. On our way we were surrounded by beautiful scenery and paragliders. Upon lake arrival we rented kayaks and just relaxed in the lake for a bit. It was very peaceful, and on our way back to the hostel we found a little beer and cheese place that had the best cheese i've ever had. Being that this was close to the end of our trip I was scraping the bottom of my bag for enough change to afford this cheese and man was it worth it!

I wished we had had more time to explore but it was time for us to head to Zurich for my inevidable flight home. Next stop Zurich.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb