I'm here!!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, after all the planning, stressing, list making and packing i'm here 😊

I arrived at about 4pm yesterday - flight was delayed by an hour and a half but somehow we made up that half an hour somewhere! After getting off the plane and making my way through the passport check (it was quicker for me with my EU passport) i went to the baggage carousel and sat myself down to wait for my suitcase, still a bit groggy from the travel sickness tablets. As soon as my bum hit the floor however, it started moving and there was my luggage! I mean i've heard of Swiss efficiency before, but this was awesome!

Before leaving the baggage area i remembered to visit a ticket machine that would give me a free 80min travel ticket as long as i had my plane ticket too - check. After a bit of a language problem with a policeman in the airport (there was a left bag and he was waiting to get it checked out - i wanted to sit down - finally managed to figure out his babbles) i collapsed into (another) seat to sort out all my stuff. The problem was i'd had to take some stuff out of my bag at check-in to try and get the weight down (stingy easyjet). 10 minutes later and i was set, and headed off to find the trains. After checking they all went to Geneva i picked a train and attempted to get on. This was more difficult than first thought as my suitcase was very heavy, i'm stupidly weak and my shoe fell off - nearly onto the track!! But after some help from very amused americans i finally slumped into a chair and watched the scenery as the train made it's way to Geneva.

Once in the city i attempted to find the trams - 14/16 that would take me to Ceri's flat (works at cern, used to go to imperial, away on holiday at the moment). After about 20mins, lots of huffing and puffing, a very sweaty me gave up and jumped into a taxi. 30 seconds later i spot the tram stops - damn - but at least i know it's not too far so shouldn't be too expensive! 5 minutes later we pull up outside the flat, first thing i notice is the dominos!! Could be an option for tea tonight....

Luckily Ceri sent me the door code because it's sweltering outside so i let myself in and sat in the entrance on the steps waiting for Ariel the Cuban to arrive with the keys. Whilst sat there i decided to look through my travel guides that Su bought me - forgot the Geneva one - damn! But I still have 2 for switzerland. It's end of work time so lots of people were coming in and out, they all seem nice and say hello (bon-soir) although one woman tried to talk to me, and my basic french was bad - i think i confused her!!

Aerial arrived about 6 and helped me with the suitcase from hell, and i meet Chester - Ceri's cat. The flat's great, and once i sorted myself out i headed out to the supermarket to get some food. I've heard you don't get bags in Switzerland in supermarkets so I remembered mine - doing well so far! Pizza for tea and bananas and croissants for breakfast!

Luckily there's internet in the flat in one corner, so I pulled down the mattress from the wall and set myself up there to check emails/let people know i'm here ok. Chester seems to like pulling the cable out of my mac...not so great and worried he's gonna get a shock, very persistent cat tho! After distracting him with a cat toy and food i could finally get stuff done.

5 minutes later Chester turns up with a tied up blue plastic bag and won't leave me alone.....i throw the bag and he legs it after it...a cat playing fetch...this is odd! After about 10 minutes I worked out that if it goes high enough he actually does backflips which is kinda cool, I hoped that i'd tire him out so he wouldn't bother me when I was trying to sleep!!

10pm try to make up the bed, Chester attacks my ankles, i had to shut him in the kitchen.

12pm so tiered - off to bed - let Chester out of the kitchen coz i felt bad. He attacks my legs every time they move under the duvet and won't leave me alone! Also started to very noisily drink from my water glass - i've heard he only drinks from the tap - this could be a development! But had to put him back in the kitchen.

9am wake up, let Chester out, still dozing.

11am 2 hours of Chester bugging me and still attacking my legs under the duvet, now playing with the power lead again too - great! Cleaned his dish and put more food out, doesn't seem interested. Ran the tap so he could have a drink, quite funny to watch him, then he had a coughing fit - stupid cat!

1pm Just about to go out, Chester's now asleep - typical! GR

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb