My Red Carpet Arrival


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
June 8th 2005
Published: June 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It has been several days since I've been in Geneva but my settling down has been time consuming and tumultuous, and hence it is not until now that I have the opportunity to scribble some of my experiences down. So, I guess I should go through it in a pragmatic chronological sequence.

June 8th - I arrived in London 4 hours behind because of mechanical difficulties with the Air Canada plane. I was sweating bullets on touchdown as I feared missing my EasyJet connection at Gatwick airport. Thankfully, buses run regularly between Heathrow and Gatwick, and I was able to get there with a full 40 minutes to spare. On the bus between the airports, I met a medical physicist from Ottawa who was quite the world traveller. I perhaps made the mistake of adding fuel to his conversational fire in offering my own educational background -- a medical student with a physics degree -- which appeared to elevate my stature significantly and set off a detailed 45 minute tirade about his work in computer programming for cancer research. In another time and place, perhaps I may have been interested; now, I was perilously close to nodding off on his shoulder.

Night, June 8th - Reached Geneva and was met by Chris at the airport. He was a nice guy who amusingly reminds me of a physics professor back at X named Carl. We made it to his apartment downtown where I subsequently met his wife and two small cute infant children, and diligently set to work trying to find a place to stay for the night. It did not look good, and so I had to resign myself to a hostel room shared by 6 people, 4 of whom came in drunk at 2:00a.m.

June 9th - I got about 3 hours sleep last night, and did not want to end up in the same sleeping situation tonight. I called every single apartment/sublet that I could find, and the only place available was a bachelor apartment for 2000 Fr. ($CAN 2000)! This town is ridiculously expensive. To add salt to the wound, the grocery store was closed when I moved in so I decided to experience the local cuisine and found a local family-owned establishment named MacDonald's -- the BigMac meal rung up 13 Fr.

Weekend, June 10th + 11th - Spent the weekend touring around in an emasculating 'town-bike': this beast even had a rather large basket in which to carry such essentials as baguettes and speedos. I went to the beach on Lake Geneva Sunday afternoon which was quite nice - although I did not spend too much time in the water because I noticed it was only the small children who were brave enough to tread these waters.

Present Day, June 14th - I am busy preparing for my presentation on 'Globalization and Health' at a conference in the Netherlands. I will be leaving tomorrow morning at 0600 hr, and will be returning Monday morning. The conference is in a university town called Groningen and I will be staying in a 5 bedroom frathouse - hopefully I will be the inebriated one disturbing THEIR residents at 2:00 in the morning. A fellow from Dalhousie medicine will also be presenting, and we plan on touring Amsterdam this weekend. So long, and thanks for all the fish, Geneva.

I will take the time when I return to decribe Geneva...no time now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb