Day 1 - Under the Belt!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
August 29th 2011
Published: August 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Escalade.Escalade.Escalade.

In 1602 the Swiss fought for their political and religious freedom against Duc de Savoie.
Well today I had my first day with my new students in a new country at a new school. I had a good day, and I felt a lot like a first year teacher. The students were educating me about various procedures at the school. I have to say that there was a lot to take in on the first day. I am glad that the first day is over. I feel more confident and I am eager to start again tomorrow.

School in Chancy starts at 8:00 am and I arrived by bike this morning at 7:10 am. Therefore, I didn't have much time to be nervous this morning. However, I was a bit nervous for the first 5 minutes of class and after that, the whole teaching thing started to feel normal.

The first day was a normal day of sorting out materials and organizing various things. Of course, some stuff always takes longer than you plan. I look forward to settling into a routine with the students.

I have 23 students in my class this year and I teach a 6P/7P combined class. They would be the ages of grade 4 and 5 students back
Reformation.Reformation.Reformation.

Here were the main players in the Reformation - Farel, Calvin, Beze and Knox.
home.

At the end of the day, one of the students thanked me and said that he had a good day. I least I made one student happy today😉

I have to say that it feels a little weird living in someone else's place and going to work. I feel like I have 2 lives. We have been over here for about one month, so I still feel like I'm in holiday mode. On the other hand, I need to be going to work each morning as well. For instance, last night I slept like a rock. It didn't feel like I had to work today. Usually, before the first day, I sleep really well, but I am up early, anticipating the day.

So, after day 1 with the students, I am glad that we decided to do the exchange.

Jarod


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Church.Church.
Church.

The 2 doors you see in the distance lead to our church.
Vineyard.Vineyard.
Vineyard.

This is one of a few vineyards that I pass on my bike ride to school.


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb