Day 4


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Engelberg
May 25th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we visited the Victoria-Jungfrau, which is a five star hotel in Interlaken. The hotel was great, and had everything you would expect from a five star facility. The hotel contained a spa, workout facilities, restaurants and even a hair salon. The best part of all was that we were allowed to dine at one of their restaurants. Our host explained the menu and I decided to choose the garlic noodles with prawns which were amazing. By American standards the service I received during dinner was great, however, compared to other service experiences I received in Europe the service was exceptional.

After eating, we left Interlaken and paid a visit to DCT, which is a Swiss Hospitality school. We received a tour of the school and were then forced to listen to student presentations. I’m going to be honest; the first presentation was in some sort of English dialect I’m not familiar with and thus I didn’t really understand any of it. The presentation I did enjoy was over the zero star hotel concept, where allows guests to pay a minimal price for minimal services which basically include a bed, a bathroom and heating. I think that if this idea were to catch on anywhere, it would be in Europe. The reason being that Europe is the place where 20-somethings flock to with no money to go backpacking, and after the movie Hostel, I’m sure many would prefer this cheaper alternative. To be quite honest, the biggest difference between the students I witnessed at DCT and the students at SFA was that the students seemed to have a higher opinion of themselves and probably took their academics more seriously. However, if I was paying the kind of money they are paying to attend the school, I would probably have a higher opinion of myself and would probably take my academics more seriously, as well.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb