Engelberg and Lucerne Day 3


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Engelberg
May 24th 2009
Published: May 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Where to begin about today’s events? First, I have to say that I am falling in love with Switzerland. In my family, everything is compared to our own heaven on earth, Lake City, Colorado. We’ve traveled the entire western U. S. , Alaska and Canada and still find that Lake City is where our heart is. I think I’ll be leaving a piece of my heart here in Switzerland. The mountains are breathtaking, the Swiss people are very hospitable and every place we have been is just amazing. I feel overwhelmed with emotion to have an opportunity to experience the beauty of God’s creation in this place.

Our students have done a fantastic job acting mature and keeping engaged, even when it was hot (as it was today in Lucerne) and a little stuffy as it was on a 19 passenger mini-bus the size of a U. S. mini-van. We began our day with another lovely breakfast at our hotel. We departed at 9 a.m. for the little village of Seelisburg, high in the mountains above Lake Lucerne. There we met Hans Aschwabden IV, at his little cheesemaking fac tory, Bergkaserei Aschwanden. Hans connected with our group right away and was a completely gracious host. He even offered to wash the clothes of a student who had fallen ill on the bus ride to the cheese factory. He explained to us his family’s history with cheese that went back to his great grandfather. He told us about his efforts to build a sustainable and green operation that uses solar panels for energy, local milk and raises hormone and anti-biotic free swine using the whey by-products as feed. Hans is living his own dream in Seelisburg- he supports his local economy and does so in a responsible way. He makes the most delicate delectable cheese I have ever eaten. You can taste the love and care he has put into his business. He explained to our group how cheese was made, his father Hans III demonstrated the daily activity of cleaning the copper vats and we all enjoyed cheese and ice cold organic apple juice in the Swiss alps. It was just incredible.

After we said goodbye to Hans, we ventured into Lucerne, a town of 60,000. We were met by the most friendly and knowledgeable tour guide Doris Heillmuller. Doris was so friendly and energetic and made us feel welcome in this medieval city. She was not only a knowledgeable tour guide, but a skilled interpreter and she made the ancient part of the city come alive for our group. We walked through the covered bridges that acted as fortifications for the city during the 18th century, saw a living statue, walked past the church where Richard Wagner married, and visted the famous Dying Lion of Lucerne statue. Afterwards we were on our own to explore for about an hour. I opted to visit the 19th century Panorama that depicted the Bourbaki army’s interment in Switzerland during 1870. I was completely alone in the Panorama and was moved to tears by the story of the Swiss people’s concern for the retreating French army. The panorama was incredible and inspiring. The building itself was a case study for preservation- built in the 19th century to exhibit travelling panoramas, it fell out of favor as the cinema became popular. By the 1920s the building was purchased by a garage owner and turned into Europe’s first circular car park. Today it houses the panorama, a movie theater that shows art films a café and gallery.
We left Lucerne, tired but satisfied after a great day. Tonight we will visit an Alpine pub and sample local fare.

As I write this, the thunder of an afternoon shower is bouncing off the mountains, the gentle tap of the rain brings my mind back to Lake City, and I wish that all of my friends and family were here with me to experience the wonder of this place.

Postscript: My only good pair of walking shoes has just broken. I've got to figure out what to do next...thankfully my colleague has let me borrow some of hers, but I've got too much more time in Europe to wear borrowed shoes..

Advertisement



25th May 2009

I wish I was there with you too! :) So sorry to hear about your shoes! I see Scott tweeted about it too.
25th May 2009

Get new shoes!
Treat yourself to a pair of new shoes and you'll always remember how the first place they kissed the ground was your magical European trip. I am almost moved to tears thinking about the cheese-making and the apple juice. Is it too late to join your group?! Let's all go to Switzerland!
28th May 2009

new shoes
I splurged and bought some cute new black dress shoes in Lucerne. I recently blew out my last two pairs of black dress shoes at home. While this doesn't solve my foot problem here, I'll at least be bringing home some cute new shoes!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.051s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb