Move to Lucerne


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have moved on from Zürich after a lovely stay. After my last entry I continued around Zürich to the sites I had not yet seen. I started at Fraumünster church, which was begun in the late 7th century and now contains five large stained glass windows by Chagall; they were absolutely stunning. Then I went to the top of one of the towers at Grossmünster church where I got the most beutiful panoramic view of the city. This was followed bz going to St. Peter-Kirsche, which was begun around 1100 and has the largest clock-face in all of Europe. That was all of the churches I could take at that point, so I took the ferry as a sort of boat tour around Lake Zürich for a couple of hours. Of course there was more random wandering around the city. Oh, at one point I was walking down this really steep hill and there was a Chihuahua running along side of me, but the hill was so steep that he was only running on his front legs. He looked like he belonged in the circus; I couldnät help but laugh out loud.

Today I took the train to Lucerne and checked into my next hostel. It's nice and clean and there seem to be a lot of people from all over the place. This weekend is the 2nd Rowing World Cup, so there are innumerable tall athletic types roaming the city. While wandering into town for the first time it was drizzling steadily, but by the time I got to the lake the rain had moved on and made the most beautiful rainbow against the mountainscape. Don't worry, I have so many pictures, but still can't post them bc I don't have access to the USB port on the computer. I also have a ton of pictures from the top of a tower on the old fortification wall that has remained from the 12th century. I love Lucerne, it's beauty is absolutely unending.

Advertisement



2nd June 2008

Enjoying your Blog
We are enjoying following your blog. Keep up the good work! Dad

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb