We made it to Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Langenthal
October 8th 2013
Published: October 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunately, TravelBlog is unable to host videos right now so I cannot post my video blogs on my blog page. Until the video uploading problem is resolved I will try to do both video and written blog entries.

We are now in Switzerland! We arrived a week ago today. Unfortunately we have not been able to do much traveling from Madiswil (our base location for the next three weeks). You may be thinking this is because we are busy working, blogging or hanging out with the locals. If only it were that easy. The reason why our day trips have been non-existent is due to Switzerland's extremely expensive travel system. Well, I will just come out and say it, "SWITZERLAND IS EXPENSIVE!" Luckily, our host is interested in doing a little traveling as well. He has offered to take us to The Alps this weekend as long as the weather permits.

Do I like Switzerland? A layered question calls for a layered answer. Yes, I love the land, the over abundance of dairy animals, shopping for fresh food everyday and the luxuries that come with staying with a Swiss host. However, I do not enjoy being ignored by the Swiss. Yes, you read that correctly, IGNORED. Our host has been explaining to us that some Swiss people only buy Swiss product and enjoy Swiss company. Well I experienced this first hand when I walked into a small cafe to get change a large bill into small bills. The woman at the counter was a bit rude but apologetic to the fact she did not speak English. Out of desperation, (train was leaving in 15min) I turned to a gentleman sitting in the restaurant to ask if he spoke English. He looked at me with a very judgmental, cold stare and simply turned away without saying a word. Obviously, that was my cue to leave.

Later that night I mentioned this experience to our host and he said that those who travel understand those who travel. Hinting that the man who ignored has most likely never left Switzerland. He assured me that for every negative experience we have with people we will have a positive experience with fellow travelers, or those who desire to travel, that will far outweigh the bad. He was right of course.

All in all, our work load here is light which is not typical for the program we are using but hey, we are grateful for anything and everything. I like to work not because it makes me feel accomplished but because of the connection it establishes with those you are working for. Our hosts trust us to tend their gardens and clean their homes. I think trust is the essential element in this equation. Trust starts small and grows until it becomes something entirely different. It is never easy to say goodbye to something that you grew with your own work, your own words and your own hearts.

If you guys ever read this, thank you for everything.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb