I dont want to give this a title. Take that TravelBlog. Sucker.


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Gimmelwald
October 6th 2007
Published: October 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last time I wrote, i think it was Berlin. Ya, thats right.

In between then and now:

Paris. Hulled Ass. Fi and I pushed hard in Paris cause any longer than 3 nights would have done a number on my bank account. But enough of the ugly truth of traveling in Europe! Paris was wonderful and I think part of that had to do with the rain and midweek timing. Crowds were low, humidity high and everything else just right. We did and saw most of the major stuff, but the Musee dOrsay blew me away. Although I have not been to EVERY museum in the entire world, so far I would say its pretty much perfect. I could have stayed there for a very long time.

Sidenote: Traveling has been amazing for my dreams. I find myself waking up feeling like I have traveled even farther than I already have because of my dreams. An even more of a sidenote is that Im suddenly fascinated with the story of Sappho...and I think November will be Greece so that I can wrap my head around her...I really wish that I had a laptop right now. I havent felt more inspired to write in ages and I find writing by hand frustratingly limiting.

Confession: I felt like such a slob in Paris. Ive lost a bit of weight - enough that my clothes felt huge and baggy. But I just kept telling myself that I am not traveling to be a Parisian...its more like a pilgrimage and when is the last time you saw a pilgrim caring about their appearance? It was humbling to say the least and pilgrimage or no pilgramage, the next time I am in Paris, I am dressing to the nines.

Now we are in Switzerland and although I will be coming back the first week of November to visit a friend, it is the perfect place to be right now. Oh and did I tell you that this is the place that all Northwesterns go? This is the first time I have met any Americans from the nw and now there is a room full of them. Its kind of nice for a change. Something to connect on.

Oh and did I tell you how unbelievably good it smells outside. Too bad the mountain isnt out today. Oh well...cest la vie.

Lots of love,

al

Advertisement



8th October 2007

Hello from Toni!
hey little al, just read all your letters to toni. she says hello and thanks for the vicarious travels. xoxooxoxoxoxox mom and toni!
9th October 2007

gimmewald!
Isn't it fantastic??? I owe you a longer email... expect it soon... Hope you are well... miss you, nate.

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb