The language of design


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Berne
April 17th 2009
Published: April 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

StartStartStart

A wooden form, chosen for headsize, is the workspace. Straw is knotted and pinned in place.
This will have to be a short entry. I had borrowed a Swiss adapter powerplug from the school. (Switzerland is in Europe, but doesn't use the European adapter I bought at Radio Shack.) And the borrowed adapter was returned at the end of class. So I'm on battery.

I will update this entry, as I do want to sing the praises of this school. It's a major tourist destination, as it is affiliated with a large cultural attraction similar to Sturbridge Village, or Williamstown in the US. And to go along with the colony of buildings and antiques, Kurszentrum Ballenberg offers the opportunity to study with kraft meisters of various disciplines. (This is not Disneyland!) The school hosts real studio work for serious artists, and for anyone who wants to try a hand at practicing a kraft. I encourage you to google online for their course offerings, which are truly engaging.

When I wrote last summer about the knotted hat course, I asked if the instructor spoke English. The director told me, 'no, the kraft IS the language.' This was a good answer. Although many Swiss people speak English, the course was conducted in German. But I was immediately
A sampleA sampleA sample

I'm holding one of the instructor's hats, which I will use ar a model.
welcomed and made to feel at home. The instructor was so warm and helpful, and jolly. I'm sure I would have benefited by understanding the language; but the experience was totally positive, and I enjoyed it thoroughly. And I've finished a hat, the first of many, I hope.

A few photos, before I run out of juice. For some reason, I've lost the ability to add captions, after the first few. Sorry. Below we have:

The entrance to the facility with school attached adjacent. The school is filled with mountain light; the studio spaces are a joy to work in.

The brown chalet is where I am staying. My room is near the peak, on the left, with a gorgeous view of the valley.

The wood carving of pronghorn mountain (sheep? goats?) is in the home of the carver, and owner of the B&B. Hr Paul Fuchs, is a master carver, and will be leading a class in 2010. He works at home, and carves daily. His brother and grandson are also carvers of significant talent. His home is filled with amazing wood sculpture.

The dish: my first real meal in a neighboring town. Rosti potatoes, with bacon and eggs.

The village is tiny: only 500 people. But there is a very fine guesthaus here, with an excellent kitchen and public dining room, including outdoor patio seating. The nearest larger town is Brienz, a 40 minute walk; or bus.

Bundles of straw — the medium of the course.

Not sure if I've left any other captions out, but gotta go. Many photos and details to add on the run.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Entrance to schoolEntrance to school
Entrance to school

The facility is such an inviting space. It is filled with natural light, and views of the imposing mountain immediately behind the school. The valley we are in is very narrow, and stunningly beautiful.
A bronze in HofstettenA bronze in Hofstetten
A bronze in Hofstetten

This carving was done by Hr Fuchs brother. It is in the center of the village.


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb