Swiss Bliss (Penny)


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
August 8th 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The best part of living in New York is leaving. I'm off to Switzerland on Tuesday! For fresh mountain air, snow-capped alpine peaks and 9 days of hardcore hiking with a bunch of girls. I cannot wait!!! Lake swims, spa retreats, border crossings to Austria, Germany and Italy .... this is my idea of heaven right now. And best of all, I get to do it by the side of my favorite sister: Sar. But perhaps I should've phrased my opening line a little more sensitively: "The best part of living in New York is it's close proximity to the Big Wide World".

Since finishing work at the Soho office, I'm leaking gallons of free time. Funnily enough, the pub hired two new hostesses the day I requested my fortnight leave, (for a hostessing position that is definitely a one-man job). Bah! Thankfully my favorite boss from the Soho office lives next door to the pub and pops in regularly to say hi, share his holiday snaps and his hopes to see me back in his office as soon as work picks up. No better time for a vacation I'd say.

Whilst living in Vancouver back in 2001, I learnt an important lesson regarding priorities. My sense of responsibility got the better of me when I chose job security over a 2-week canoe ride down the Alaskan Yukon River, daredevil camping in grisly bear territory and bathing in crystal blue water. Times were tough in B.C.'s construction industry back then. A week into my mate's canoe adventure I was retrenched. Lost opportunities abound. I will never make the same mistake again!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th August 2009

Yodelayheehoo
Oh pen I can't wait to see you and get some fresh swiss mountain air...
9th August 2009

Yodelayheehoo
I know Sar! It's gonna be soooo much fun jumping straight into Lake Zurich. How cool?!?! And Michaela promised to take us to Lucerne ... the town everyone dreams of when they dream Swiss! See you in 3 days.
11th August 2009

have a fantastic time penwa!! that swiss army knife chocolate looks stunning! make sure you post lots and lots of photos xxx

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb