The first step


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
February 27th 2008
Published: February 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So a travel blog.... Its weird sitting here writing and not quite knowing how this whole travel blog is gonna work out. I figure its the best way to record my adventures for myself, but also for those of you back at home. Hope I manage to keep you entertained and informed, with a few laughs along the way. So we shall see...

Where to start?? After a month of enjoying the sun and living at home in Paekakariki the 25th of feb jumped at me very quickly and all too soon were we all at the airport. Its a weird feeling leaving home and going off into the unknown, kinda sad to leave my family and all that is familiar, but also exciting to take that first step out into an adventurous world. I guess that quote is correct "the first step is the hardest"... Well the first step was all pretty straight forward, my flight was all fine no mishaps at customs and the airplane behaved itself. Was incredible to fly over Australia during the day and look out the window for six hours and only see red, orange and yellow sand, interrupted occasionally by a thin road,
Australian sand.... for hoursAustralian sand.... for hoursAustralian sand.... for hours

Yellow, orange, golden, red, copper....
but almost no civilization visible.

Arriving in Zurich at 7am I felt like I had left home in NZ, but I had also arrived home back to Switzerland. Omi picked me up at the station in Herrliberg and brought me back to her house on SchulhausStr. A wonderful house, which mum was born in, filled with her family history and many memories. Its a place I know never to change and that provides a great security. A great place to settle in before I go out into many unknown places.

Well I must continue sorting out things, I have a flight to book to Benin, a train to book to Montpellier, a visa form in french to try and full out... the joys of organising travel.

Well hopefully that passes as a first blog entry, I hope to have many more...



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb