Utopian


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
June 24th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

About a month ago I was looking for new jobs for myself, as well as work for Asia in Scotland. I came accross an ad for a PhD studying a large landslide in Switzerland. The position was at at one of Europe's top universities. The more I read, the more I realised how similar the project could be to where my MSc research had been heading way back in 2003. I figured there's nothing to lose by applying, so sent away a letter.

.. Then after a bit of to-ing and fro-ing I found myself in Zurich Flughafen with a bag full of books, reports, references.. and a 30min public presentation/3hr interview to give the next day.

My first impressions of Zurich were that it's a very well organised city, and really quite beautiful. However, I was somewhat confined to quarters for the first 12hrs as the sun went down and I desperately tried to get on top of my presentation. The next day was exhausting, I found my way to the campus, presented, interviewed, talked, and generally just tried to get a handle on the whole setup in the few hours I had. I was impressed, of course, though it was definately one of the more difficult interviews I've had of late.

I left in two minds, well probably more than two - perhaps totally confused would be more honest. By the time I found my way back to my hotel I think my mind had just given up.. I ate peanuts, collapsed on the bed and that was it.

The rest of my time in Zurich was entirely less stressful. Asia arrived early the next morning, and we spent the day just floating round the city, the trams, the lake.. generally taking everything in and enjoying the warm weather and ample grassy spaces. It felt like a bit of a utopia; friendly people of all nationalities eating ice-cream, listening to music, smoking weed, playing with kids. We had an late afternoon beer at a bar by the river and swum in shorts with locals and ex-pats enjoying their friday night.

The next morning saw us again go our separate ways. Both of us sad to see each other go, but getting used to saying goodbye.. and this time perhaps more wondering what the future may hold. Crazy times.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb