The Älpli BAR in Zürich


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich » Zürich
May 1st 2012
Published: May 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

My favorite bar in Zürich is the Älpli BAR. If you want a true Swiss experience, visit Aelpli bar in Zurich. When I have out of town guests, I bring them here. You feel like you are up in the Alpsinstead of the city down a tiny alley. Its a bit difficult to find so you really have to be on the lookout.

Every night they have live Swiss music but it gets especially hopping on a weekend night. The bar has recently changed management so not quite sure about the food. I’m not sure if they serve food anymore. They weren’t at 8 pm. This is where I had raclette for the first time, which I have become a huge fan!

I went with a friend who had never been before. We arrived right at 8 when the music started up. Its a small bar inside a very old building. The old Swiss guy next to us was full of all sorts of info. The building is from the the 13th century and it used to be a stable. The wooden bar itself is from the 1800′s.

The house specialty is Aelpli-milch. It is not actually milk, it just looks like it. It is a foamy alcoholic drink (18%!)(MISSING). It is really good served with fresh strawberries. You have to try it!

Everyone is so friendly that it feels like family. I’m not great at filming or video editing (that talent was given to my sister), but you can get a feel for the atmosphere and hear a bit of the music.

http://www.facebook.com/v/10100235989467243


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb