Vallby in Vasteras


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
August 13th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today, Sunday 13th Jeff and I walked to Vallby. Vallby is an open air museum type of place. Jeff has been there a few times before, but today was stoked to find that the very old buildings were open. And what was even better, in a lot of them, there were people, both young and old dressed in period costume going about their business as if they were in a time warp. It was GREAT! Jaibyn, there is a photo for you at the end of this blog.

Think what the old houses were like they used to have in the Early Settlers Museum in Dunedin. I used to love going there as a kid, looking at what it was like for the early settlers of the town. Well this was like that but much much better.

Another thing I forgot to mention yesterday about shopping is that I am sure the good people of Vasteras must think Jeff is a pervert. I have been into that many lingerie shops here it isn't funny, and Jeff, being the dutiful brother that he is, has been following in my wake. Thing is, everywhere I go I have my camera. So when I have been trying things on, in said lingerie shops, Jeff gets to hold my camera and lounge around by the changing rooms, and with us speaking in, what to Swedish people is a weird accent, it must look dodgy. LOL




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Childs bedroomChilds bedroom
Childs bedroom

This was a very very realistic bedroom, there was even a deposit in the bed pan.
I think the roof needs mownI think the roof needs mown
I think the roof needs mown

Lots of roofs of really old buildings have grass or moss growing on them.
RabbitsRabbits
Rabbits

I took this photo specially for Jaibyn, thought you might like the rabbits.


14th August 2006

Period C..... Vino !
Adjo Dee ! Hur ma du ? Can just see you in a "Period' Costume Dee - WAHOO ! and of course swinging off the end of a vino or three ..mindful of getting to the liquor outlets in plenty of time. A well stocked cabinet is truly vital :) Very authentic pics and the essence of international travel - visiting those small spots that truly reflect the real culture, activities, infastructure and peoples that live there - GO you !
14th August 2006

Deposit???????
Deposit?????? I thought it was called POOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
16th August 2006

Old costumes and quaint all towns
That must have been a great visit - especially with all the people decked out. Don't know too much about the deposit in the pot - that could be TOO realistic.

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb