Gasques and Glorious Weather(For Sweden)


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Uppsala County » Uppsala
September 23rd 2007
Published: September 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

You must all be updated seeing as everyday a million things happen that my cyber world following must be made aware of.
First of all: I tried Vegemite. Foul. But good for you...

Second of all: I have a "job". Ok so I've only worked one day. And I got paid the equivelent of 8 US dollars for 5 hours. I am an illegal immigrant practically...I worked in the kitchen at Kalmar making burgers, potatoes, salads, and fallafel. It was fun and I ate alot...I am going to try and work there more.

Third of all: I have joined the choir...I think. I went to the first practice last week and there was a lot of Swedish talk swirling about and I felt like a lost little lamb. Plus I had no idea about the melodies of the songs and I can't read music so I just felt like I was dying trying to keep up and it was certainly a struggle. And singing songs in Swedish!! That is so tough but we sang one song in English. At first I felt like crap because I was like I can't do this but as the night went on I
Me "Doing Cocaine"Me "Doing Cocaine"Me "Doing Cocaine"

no mother, it is sugar. do not be alarmed.
started to get the hang of it and it just felt so good to sing even though my throut hurt so bad afterwards. I am going to try to stick with it since it is such a challenge..we shall see.

Fourth of all: The C Party. Chris, my dear friend and owner of the Vegemite, turned 21 so we had a party where you had to dress as something that starts with a C. I was Cupid. My favorite outfit of the evening was Ellie who was Cocaine and everyone pretended to snort her.

Fifth of all: Ellie and I were sitting by the river yesterday basking in the sun. The weather was so good. Windy and cold yes but for Sweden fantastic. We got interviewed by the newspaper on the weather and I do believe I came off as sounding like a stupid Californian. Maybe because I said "For me, this is winter!" and "When it gets cold and extremely dark out, I may cry". And Ellie came off as a well prepared New Zealander who "plays rugby" and will drink when it gets cold off. I can't wait to see if it goes in the newspaper and how stupid we will sound.

Fifth of all: Maria, my german love, played her first DJ gig last night!! YEAH VIOLET GRAY!! she played some awesome songs..though i did not dance because i was so tired from the gasque..but i love her.

Last of all: GASQUES! I had my Kalmar Reccegasque Friday. We all walked together to University Building with our nation flags flying and proceeded inside for the reception which is in the gorgeous theater. All the speeches were in Swedish so I got translations from the Swede next to me. Then the band wearing overalls and blowing bubbles played music and boys in army hats and tutus danced around..and i laughed so much becuase i was like WTF is going on..and no one else was even smiling..odd Swedish traditions that make me smile. Then we came back to Kalmar and had carrot curry soup. SO GOOD. Then we had schnapps(god i hate schnapps) and beer and wine and then finally we were drunk enough to be given the main course of salmon. We listened to speeches and had the choir and band perform who at one point decided to rock ut by putting on wigs and kiss tshirts and playing Final Countdown! We all got on our chairs and screamed the song. Then the afterparty...drunk dancing you know...unfortunatly no pictures from that night I forgot my camera.
BUT...this weekend we had the International Gasque which followed the same routine but all Intl Students and no reception and I HAD MY CAMERA! The food was not as good. And less alcohol. But I had fun because all my friends were there and we danced the night away and sang swedish songs till we were good and sweaty.

Now back to my schoolwork...
TRIP UPDATE: tickets are bought for Berlin and Dublin!!! and i am planning on Lund and Kiruna, and seeing ARCADE FIRE...but the ticketsystem for the concert is f'ing up. I am freaking out. Does anyone know what makulerad means??????????? AHHHHHH!

jag alskar alla
puss och kram



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

American GirlsAmerican Girls
American Girls

International Gasque
The Death of a BikeThe Death of a Bike
The Death of a Bike

People kill bikes a lot here


24th September 2007

swedish singing!!
I should have known there was a reason I named you Hannah, never thought you would be singing in swedish, that is sooo great! So proud of you! Love the silver dress.. Did you know that Hannah is on the top ten most popular names in Sweden, a good choice for ya!!! Mom

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb