My Wife Gives Me Two Weeks Off For Good Behavior Every Year-Scandinavia-Summer 2011


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
August 15th 2011
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Family Party & YardsaleFamily Party & YardsaleFamily Party & Yardsale

Very friendly, invinting, and charming Swedes who insisted I come visits. Dressed in traditional clothing, they fed and entertained me. I really miss the hospitality!
Monday, August 15, 2011-riding notes

Well, I guess I missed a few days of trip notes. This can only mean that I've had a great time! The people here are great. I've begun a new concept called Matt TV. I thought that after it catches on I'll rename it MTV. This concept will allow me to video tape images while on my bike trip, then began my own TV network. Eventually I'll add music to the repertoire, and have home videos. With my iPhone I and iPad I'm able to do most anything. Take a look at some of the videos that I've included.

By the way, on the way out of Sodertalje I found a hostel. I rode from Sodertalje to Sodermalm, a borough(?) of Stockholm. I began with route 225 out of the hotel. Anne, the desk clerk, pointed me in the right direction. I accidentally started going south towards nynashamn, realized my mistake, and picked up 224 or was it 226? Either way, between the road and the numerous bike/walking paths, I met up with a woman with two dogs & two boys. She highly recommended Zinken Hostel in Sodermalm. Since Stockholm consists of 14 islands,
Family Party & YardsaleFamily Party & YardsaleFamily Party & Yardsale

Very friendly, invinting, and charming Swedes who insisted I come visits. Dressed in traditional clothing, they fed and entertained me. I really miss the hospitality!
I made it well into the city.

When I arrived, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hostel costs 10 kr less than Bredang campground, is closer to downtown, and is much dryer than a tent on a drizzly night. Once there, I began my usual immediate routine. Unpacked, washed my clothes, and showered.

From there I walked on down to Stockholm's one full service tourist bureau. It's about a 40 min walk from Sodermamn through Gamla-Stan (old town), to Normalm. I picked up info on the bus and boat tours and ferry info. I'm booked to leave for Turku, Helsinki at 8 pm on wednesday, Aug 17, and I'll arrive at 7:45 am, after losing an hour from time zone change. Not bad for about $40!

I took about 100 pics, saw the palace, and walked by all of the junk shops a la Chinatown tacky! As long as it doesn't rain I'll be on the boat & bus tour of the city. I know most people think they're silly, tacky, or geriatric, but I love them. I think of both the Beatles tour in London and the tour in Iceland that I took with my sisters. They bring back some great memories.

I'm still having trouble finding authentic Swedish food, but better luck with Swedish beer. I stopped into the Viking Bar where the waiter gave me a free postcard when he saw I was filling out cards. Sitting in the hostel cafe over dinner, beer, and many bother travelers. One of my bunk mates is from France. I haven't met the other two yet. I tried to strike up a conversation, but he wasn't interested. He avoided eye contact when he walked by me in the restaurant. His loss.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb