Stockholm and general musings on the Baltic


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
June 23rd 2011
Published: June 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So today we arrived in Stockholm. The weather was pretty awfull, with most of the british passengers staying on board, despite our canadian production manager taking the piss by saying 'pip pip what what its just a normal sammers day for you chaps isnt it? Jolly ho!' After reminding him that we blame canada for everything, apart from Terrance and Phillip, we got off the ship together in the tenders and went for a meal.
I wish I could say more about Helsinki, but because it was raining really quite hard we didnt get to do much sight seeing. We did walk past the office's of EA games, which was kinda cool. We are back here in a month or so anyway so I hope the weather will be better then so I can see more of it.

As we pulled out of Stockholm, we had to traverse several hours of rivers as Stockholm is a little way into the country. The scenery was breathtaking, with forests as far as you can see, little hamlets, tiny lighthouses on rocks in the middle of nowhere and the occasional fishing boat. We were in a convoy with 3 other cruise ships, so god knows what the locals must have thought, maybe that the capital was evacuating.
Later on that evening, after working the show (which by the way I have a costume for as Im on stage 'acting' for a couple of minutes with the rest of the stage crew) I went out with the sound engineer (my cabin mate Aldiss) and the lighting guy tom to stand on the bow of the ship. That night it really hit me of beautiful the baltic is. The sky was a pale pastel blue, clouds that looked like they had been put there on purpose to highlight the sky, calm ocean and an island range that contains 10,000 tiny islands. We all stood there in silence just trying to take in this amazing sight. Unfortunatly my iphone camera couldnt do it justice, so I will try again tonight with my normal camera. As a last photo for here, this is a sunset I took just off Denmark afew nights ago.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb