Stockholm Syndrome


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
April 26th 2009
Published: April 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Stromma boatsStromma boatsStromma boats

Very like the one we were on
Another full speed week at work as I continue to get involved in all the various projects there. I would tell you more, especially about the soap opera that is office gossip/politics but I really can't... Maybe I'll be able to once the dust settles. Or maybe I'll write a book. With names changed to protect the guilty. Or not.

I continue to challenge the office staff in my quest for accommodation. This week has been all about apartments. Petra, the ever-helpful receptionist has been on the case. The first one the agent found her was in Sodermalm (the trendy bit if you remember). I dutifully trotted down there on Thursday evening to take a look. All was looking promising - it was about 20 minutes door-to-door from the office, in a nice area with all the shops and restaurants I could need, liquor store downstairs, and the apartment was in one of a number of blocks surrounding a little park area. So far so good. Then I walked in the door. Well, it was like I'd stepped into chintz and ruffle hell. The owners, an elderly Swedish couple, were charming and had me sit in their living room for a chat, which was rather like a job interview... But then I looked around and there was stuff EVERYWHERE. Now I'm not the tidiest, but then again I do like a certain amount of order, which I would certainly not be able to get there. The Colonel and his wife were intending to leave the place almost exactly as it was, simply clearing me half the fridge and one side of the wardrobe!! Now I know I didn't completely empty my place when I rented it out, but at least I packed all my personal stuff away so that Sarah could make it a bit more her own. Frankly I'd rather stay at the Clarion, even with the disadvantages that entails.

The next apartment suggested by the agent looked rather similar judging by the photos on the website. Seems renting for such a short time at such short notice is not an easy proposition. However, there might be a ray of light. On Friday Petra sent me a link to a really nice looking place on the north west coast of Sodermalm. A slightly quieter area apparently but nowhere's very far away in Stockholm. Hopefully I'll get to see it tomorrow... Fingers crossed!

I've had a pretty quiet weekend which has been nice. Greg went back to the UK for a weekend of forecast horrible weather, whilst I stayed here in glorious sunshine! Not that I saw much of it yesterday as I only ventured out of my room for food, preferring to lounge around reading a book and watching Swedish TV. OK, not really Swedish TV as I picked the English language programmes but I do feel that I understand more of the adverts now 😊

Today I've been a bit more proactive and got myself on a boat trip - a 2 and a half hour archipelago tour on the Ostana I. We started by cruising out past Stockholm’s eastern islands (Skeppsholmen, Sodermalm and Djurgarden) before heading north east through the inner archipelago towards Vaxholm, the summer town gateway to the archipelago proper. It was a sunny day and loads of locals had taken to the water to enjoy the start of spring - boats large and small, sailing and motor driven, plus a few jet skis (five of which were just sitting around holding hands...!). This particular trip was a guided tour so we didn’t actually dock anywhere, instead just cruising around taking in the sights. The guide gave us some interesting little titbits of information, some of which I’ve put on the photo captions lest this become an essay. Overall, I think I was expecting more out of it from a scenery point of view (maybe something a bit wilder and more remote), but not a bad experience, and I guess we couldn’t really get very far into the archipelago in the time we had. In any event it was very pleasant to sit and watch the world go by from the deck of an old boat, even if I did rather underestimate how cold it'd be... I could easily do another trip like it although may choose my seat a little more wisely next time - somewhere in the sunshine and preferably on the right hand side of the boat which is a bit closer to the shore sights! Although I guess I saw more of the watercraft from the left.

On leaving the boat, I decided to have a leisurely stroll back to the hotel using a route I'd not been before, and came across the most beautiful square of cherry trees in full blossom (as well as a rather tasty hot dog). Of course, it was hugely crowded with tourists taking pictures so I couldn't get a good one of my own, but still very pretty to see. Maybe it'll be less full of people during the week... if I can remember where it was! Actually, I’m sure I’ll find it - right next to TGI Friday’s!

I got back to the hotel to find it’s been taken over. AstraZeneca are holding an International Meeting of Minds... which rather amused me. Some interesting mental images of big pink brains hopping around reception. On which note, I’m going to bed. These Swedes start their working day at 8am which is a bit of a shock to the system. Plus I’ve got to beat all those brains down to breakfast 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Cinderella and Bogesunds CastleCinderella and Bogesunds Castle
Cinderella and Bogesunds Castle

Main castle built in 1640s but the visible towers were a later addition
Tiny islandTiny island
Tiny island

Population 4
More islandsMore islands
More islands

There are 30,000 or so islands in the archipelago, of which 85% are privately owned
SwansSwans
Swans

Presumably happy because salinity is low
Jet skiersJet skiers
Jet skiers

Not entirely sure why they're holding hands...
StatueStatue
Statue

Was meant to grace the UN in New York but rejected as too religious. Ended up in Stockholm as designed by a Swede
The local old folks homeThe local old folks home
The local old folks home

Not a castle as many think
CraneCrane
Crane

Or is it a giraffe? This near Skansen it's hard to tell


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb