The Flying Dutchman of the Stockholm Tunnelbana


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
January 28th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, I'm perusing wikipedia.com, the free online encyclopedia trying to increase my vast amount of comletely trivial and useless knowledge. Since I'm in Stockholm, I figure I'll look up the various sights, like Gamla Stan (Old Town) and the Warship Vasa, trying to learn everything I can about the history of the place where I'll be spending the next four months.

This brings me to the article on the Stockholm Metro System, or Stockholms Tunnelbana in Swedish. The system, affectionately known as "The T", is widespread and efficient, with three color coded lines and a hundred different stations, bringing you anywhere you'd possibly need to be in the Greater Stockholm area. I get to the bottom of the page, after reading about the different models of trains that the system has had since its completion in the 1960s. There I find a link to an article called "Silverpilen: the Ghost Train".
Apparently, the Stockholm subway is haunted. Urban Legend holds that there is a train that haunts the system, which is an all-silver model that was discontinued in the 1950s (Before the entire system was complete). The train has been seen traveling through stations at high speeds right before the T closes for the night (12:30 AM weekdays, 3 AM weekends). Sometimes it stops to pick up passengers, who are never seen again.
The train supposedly makes its residence at the 101st metro station, which was designed for a planned community that was never built. This abandoned station liesa just beyond the Hallonbergeren stop on the 11-branch of the blue line. Gee, can you guess which stop on the T is closest to my apartment? Yup, Hallonbergen.
Where are the Ghostbusters when I need them?

Advertisement



28th January 2006

You have a career as a travel writer....

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb