Here We Go...


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
January 26th 2006
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Righto. After recommendation after recommendation, I've joined the overcrowded and largely irrelevant world of internet blogging. Of course, as I'm in the Kingdom of Sweden for the semester, I'll probably have a considerable amount of material to talk about, which differs somewhat from my usual routine. So sorry if I don't get around to posting my ideas about why "Airplane!" is an American cinema classic, but I've got bigger Swedish Fish to fry (or, at least, enjoy with an Ice Junkie at the Movies).

The Story So Far:
I'm currently enrolled at Stockholm University in Stockholm, the capital of Sweden. I'm particiating in "The Swedish Program" out of Hamilton College. This allows me to study at the University in English, while also taking a course in beginning Swedish at the same time. I've wanted to take Swedish for a long time, and I went to a language-heavy college in the hope that I'd be able to take it there. After discovering that this was not possible (no, I'm not bitter, Middlebury), I decided to take German instead, it being the closest geographical and historical language to Swedish that was avaliable at my "extensive language programs" college.
Anyhoo, I found out about this program, applied, and quickly bailed on German. After waay too much paperwork from both the US State Department and the Swedish Consulte General, I found myself on the Icelandair flight from Logan INTL and on my way to Sweden (via Iceland, which, contrary to popular myth, is NOT Green. At least, not in January).
It's been a week so far, and I've been quite overwhelmed by the experience, but in a good way. The small things that I took for granted in the States, like being able to go grocery shopping and being able to read, well, anything. So far, I haven't had any "DAMN THIS STUPID COUNTRY!" moments, but I probably will by the time this semester is over.
But it's late. And this is my first entry. Check back sometime soon for a full week-long recap, and some pictures eventually. All is good time, my friends.
Until then...
Hej do!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb