My First Week at Lund!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Skåne County » Lund
January 18th 2012
Published: January 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After 24 hours of travelling and a few hours of scattered sleep I finally made it to Lund! Of course I got lost as soon as I got there and ended up waiting on the wrong side of the train station to be picked up.. luckily I met Gabby who had done the same thing! Eventually someone found us and took us to register and sign our housing contracts. The rest of this day consisted of a few other formalities and settling into my room. I am living in a small corridor with 5 other Swedes who are the nicest people and officially the best housemates in the world! Sorry if you think you have the best housemates, but you’re wrong.

Day 2 meant the start of SUSA, in other words- the butchering of the Swedish language. I admire anyone who is fluent in Swedish as it is the most difficult language I have ever attempted learning. After SUSA my mentor group (Which has grown from 15 to over 40 members woo!) met for the first time and we had some drinks before heading to a welcome party.. which was interesting to say the least. By the way, beer-pong and I are jinxed. Whenever I play, my teams owns for the majority of the game and when we have one cup left we can’t get it!! Every time!!

Anyway, as you might imagine Thursday morning was quite rough and impacted my sense of directions even more than usual. It took about an hour to get into town, but it was all worth it as my new friend Kiri (from Perth) and I discovered the world’s best brownies. We thought that maybe all Swedish cooking was ten times better than anywhere else, but I tried one at the place next door and it wasn’t as good. To date I have had four brownies here. This night we hung out with our mentor group again to chill and play some games.. I would like to officially blame Allan (Holland) on making our team lose (your award will arrive in the mail shortly).

On Friday, we had a lesson on Swedish literature, pronunciation, and music which was really fun. That night I decided it was time to get a bike and went on a mission with Sunny (who happens to be from UQ) and Sebastian (a real Swedish person). This mission continued the next day in Malmo where we finally bought some bikes- Tack Sebastian!

Saturday night consisted of a big korridor party (word tries to correct my korridor spelling every time haha!) before another welcome party which was LITERALLY quite hectic, hence Sunday was spent doing nothing and eating brownies. Oh yeah I did go to dinner at Allan and Caro’s place which was so much fun and really nice to eat proper food.. for those who know me cooking isn’t my forte. In saying that, My housemate Anna and I went grocery shopping yesterday and we bought so much food that it ended up taking us 30 minutes to get home as opposed to 10 minutes.. won’t be doing that again! I made my famous hot dogs.

On Monday Bianca (from Canada) and I went shopping and I finally got some stuff to decorate my room.. photos will come shortly because as you can imagine, my room is a mess at the moment. That night we had a welcome reception where the boys choir sung (amazing!) and the vice chancellor made a speech.

So my first week at Lund has been incredibly busy adjusting to the town, meeting loads of new people and working of my navigation skills. I still need to practise riding my bike though. I’m pretty sure I haven’t mentioned how beautiful it is here, which I probably should have said initially! It’s really like being in a movie. On a totally different note, my contact hours here are ridiculous!! I start class next week and for about 2 months I have 2 hours of contact time per week!!! After that It is 4 at the most.. I have a feeling there will be a lot of travelling done this semester.



Tills nästa gång! xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb