Can't Take the Canada out of the Girl


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Östergötland County » Linköping
September 3rd 2010
Published: September 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Helloo all

So today was quite the exciting day! I was all worried because I didnt think my I was giving my address out correctly but I received a package from home!! It's so weird, I've only been here like 2 weeks but getting mail or packages from Canada is SO exciting! I've been sick lately too so the comforts of home are definitely welcome. This cold is kicking my butt!!

Funny story: I went to the pharmacy downtown today to get something to help me breathe so I can sleep at night and the pharmacist laughed at me and told me I sounded funny. I do have this weird honking sort of thing going on that is kind of unnattractive. I believe she compared me to the sound of a pig because I'm so congested. She was so sweet about it I couldn't even be mad I just laughed. She did recommend this pill I'm supposed to take to help me breathe. I took one today and could officially breathe out of one nostril so that was exciting! The fever that goes with this wonderful cold isn't so fun but that goodness for having my own bathroom. There is nothing like taking the longest, hottest shower possible when you're sick!!

Today I also got my butt out of bed and went downtown to get myself a cell phone and a Swedish phone number! Lucky me I had the most adorable guy helping me that set everything up including loading my minutes and setting up my phone so it's in English. Lord knows how long that would have taken me to figure out on my own! He asked me how long I was staying in Sweden and said he likes when students come in because it allows him to practise his English even though I was apologetic for not being able to speak Swedish -in true Canadian form! One of the first things my friend from Germany asked me when she met me was whether it's true that Canadians are truly apologetic people. I told her I wasn't sure...I guessed so...and then apologized for not knowing. Ha Guess you can take the girl out of Canada but you certainly can't take the Canada out of the girl.

This week I had an introductory class to one of the courses I will be beginning next week. I met the professor who is from the U.S. and she seemed very lovely as I mentioned briefly I think in my last entry. I emailed her today to get information about one of my courses and she emailed back to tell me what a pleasure it was to have me in the class as her grandmother is from Canada. How sweet is that??! Okay it's weird that I came all the way to Sweden and got an American professor but what a nice way to begin the year! I've been finding lately that while I'm navigating my way through living in a new country and meeting new people and being away from family and friends, I'm really touched by loving emails and packages and notes and letters or just kindness from people. There is something great about living in a comfort zone but stepping outside of it has made me appreciate the good things I have in my life and I think it's made this experience even more important for me.

Now to finish with another funny story...a couple days ago I went to make toast in the kitchen and forgot to plug in the toaster. One of the guys I live with told me (good thing because it probably would have taken me some time to clue in) so I plugged it in -a little sheepishly- and it started to smoke and smell like burning. I stopped it and tried to see what the problem was but I couldnt see anything so I tried again. It started smoking again and REALLY smelled like burning so I stopped it and decided to have bread...one of the girls I live with brought out another toaster she knew was stored away and the minute she plugged it in wasn't there "blue lightning" or electricity that flew out of the plug and of course the whole floor went pitch black. I live with 7 people...it's not really a popular move to kill the electricity. Since we didnt have candles (and it was probably best at this point that we didn't try to play with fire) we all marched outside to the fuse box. I'm not sure why exactly but they seemed to think it was important that I learn how to fix it in the event that it happens again....it's like they know I once lit a garbage can on fire at a fastfood restaurant or that I stuck my finger in the lighter hole thing in the car. haha

-Rhianna

Advertisement



4th September 2010

You are very funny and I actually think you will write humour stories when you start writing for money and not merely to entertain us! I'm glad that you are feeling better with the mystery pills and hot showers. You know your Mom is going to ask you if you've tried finding ginger.....! Where is my correspondence? Why did your Mom's package arrive so quickly and my correspondence is still missing....sad sigh. Saw Zechariah tonight. They visited Mom. I have to say that he is the funniest most adorable child. Truly adorable. Can't understand him a lot of the time, but I think it adds to the appeal! Talk to you soon. g
4th September 2010

REading other comments
Why can't I read other people's comments? I thought that was part of the whole travel blog thing....
4th September 2010

Funny Stories
Hey Rhianna: As long as you can keep your sense of humour as you experience all of the culture differences, you will do fine. Enjoying your updates and forwarding them to the girls at the office.... Love...Wendie
7th September 2010

I dont know. It says the "reviewed" ones are supposed to appear on my public pages...and I've reviewed them all so they should be visible. I dont get it.
7th September 2010

PS try going to the left tool bar thing and clicking on "read comments". Scroll to the bottom and you shhould see em. Thats what I did.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb