Research


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Norrbotten County » Luleå
June 23rd 2009
Published: June 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Research In Sweden



After arriving in Luleå, our first task was to figure out what research project we would be working on. We had oppertunities at two locations, LTU the technical University in Luleå, or at SICOMP (Swedish Institute of Composites). At first my priority was to stay in Luleå where ten people would be staying, only three would be going to Piteå. But after going over the projects, I realized that to make the most out of the experience I should move to Piteå where there was a project with Civil Engineering applications.

SICOMP is funded with grant money for individual projects. My project is funded by the European Union. So ironically, the National Science Foundation is paying for me to work for no pay for the European Union.... Go figure. The research projects therefore are classified and we had to sign a confidentiality agreement. So unfortunately I won´t be able to go into great detail about my research, especially on a public blog, but it was by far a better research oppertunity.

Being here for only six weeks makes your ability to contribute marginal. The students working at LTU are at the bottom of totem pole and really do menial labor. It is kind of funny to think that some of the smartest students (I am not including myself in this claim) from the midwest are literally seperating hairs. But the big part is living and working and surviving in a foriegn city. Our work is definitely more inline with what I have experienced in other research positions here at SICOMP.

The other interesting note that we have experienced is the difference in work weeks. It almost seems that coffee breaks and lunch time govern what gets done and when. There are two 15 minute (that turn into 30 minute) coffee breaks. One in the morning and one in the afternoon. Also there is a 45 minute (which turns into an hour at least) lunch break. If a test is going to run into one of these breaks then it usually is put off. This makes progress soooo slow. For many students that came on this trip, it is thier first research experience. The pace of research has been somewhat offputting, however, I have found that to be the case in American Research as well.

So the benefits of working in a socialized country.....Not having the pressure to be productive!

Overall, this has been a great experience. I have become very familiar with the Swedish culture and I feel more comfortable in being in a European country. I am greatful for Sweden´s ability to speak English. It will be a nice transition as I head to other European Countries over the next few weeks, where the language barrier is a bit more pronounced!

Tommorrow is our last day of work and then we will head to Luleå where our group is having a last night bbq. We will say goodbye to Sweden and then Thursday I will fly from Luleå to Stockholm. In Stockholm I will spend the night, hopefully in the airport to save some money, and then fly to Edinborough Scotland where I meet with Rory and our Sunday School teacher Anne for a week of touring.

I am most looking forward to the first night in Scotland where the sun will actually go down and there will be darkness while we sleep. Everyone told us that we would eventually get used to the sunlight at night, but that is not true! For a short time it is great, because you can take advantage of everything all night long!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb