Observations from week one


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Halland County
August 12th 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HeathrowHeathrowHeathrow

This is our only picture of the journey to Sweden!
Here are a few observations from Week 1:

1. Grey Volvo station wagon's rule...followed closely by grey Volvo sedans.
2. You can't do a "quick load of laundry" in Sweden.
3. If groceries were this costly in the States, we wouldn't have an obesity problem.
4.My kids are much quieter living in a big house on 2 acres than in a small row house with shared walls.
5. Ikea's Swedish Meatballs are even better eaten in Sweden - with a big pile of french fries on top.
6.Foreign kids throwing tantrums sound just like American kids throwing tantrums.
7.Swedish women have better body images than we do.
8.Knowing the language is helpful before moving to a new country.
9.People, in general, are kind and helpful.
10.Webcams and Skype are great inventions.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The man behind the school...The man behind the school...
The man behind the school...

The kids in Gothenburg with the statue of Gustavus Adolphus, King of Sweden. Where are our GAC t-shirts when we need them!
Jeff and the abacusJeff and the abacus
Jeff and the abacus

Things are just slower here.
Gothenburg CentrumGothenburg Centrum
Gothenburg Centrum

City streets of Gothenburg...


13th August 2008

Hello!
Hi Maria! I thoroughly enjoyed reading your journal entries! You are such a creative, talented writer! It sounds as though you and the family are adjusting very well. You are so lucky that you have this opportunity to experience life beyond the Midwest. :) I look forward to reading about the rest of your adventures! Well, it is getting late here (about 11:00 P.M./past my bedtime), so I will communicate more later. I just finished reading letters that all the former 6th graders wrote to us, the 7th grade teachers. It is nice to get to know them a little before the first day of school which is next Wednesday. :) I think of you often, and my mom and I so appreciated the wonderful supper you prepared and your company. Me and you, a two man crew, side by side, we will never be divided, win or lose, sink or swim, you know we'll always be the best of friends... :) Carolyn
13th August 2008

Hej!
Wow! You are actually in Sweden. I can't believe it. I'm very jealous. I don't envy the flight over, but now that you are there it must be nice. I hope Jeff doesn't have to work all the time so you can enjoy Sweden as a family. I'm glad to hear there are so many nice people there willing to help out too. This will be a wonderful learning experience for your kids and will give them a lifetime of memories. What a great opportunity. Is there a local baseball team for Jeff dominate? Probably not, but I bet there is a lot of skiing. Say hi to Jeff and the kids for me and take lots of pictures. Enjoy. ps:I tried to be the first to comment today but I see that sneak Carolyn cheated her way in ahead of me. Hej da.
22nd August 2008

Things in Sweden
Hi Jeff and Maria, you seem to be having a great time in Sweden! Keep the creative and well-written blogs coming this way. I will stay an avid follower of your adventures. Best of luck!

Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb