Going to Church


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Halland County » Halmstad
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We've been here for one month now, and weekly church is about my only social interaction. Sure, I see the teacher at school, I wave at the neighbors, I see the ladies at the grocery store, but church is the only outing I choose to take each week. So we go.

As I said in an earlier blog, not a lot of people attend church here. Ours is a small church that serves a large community of people and there has been room at each service I've attended. There has also been a different priest (as they are referred to here, not pastor) preaching each week. Roland is the newest pastor, and we've gotten to know him through a couple of meetings. It could be the highest priest in all of Sweden preaching and we wouldn't know the difference. Every word is in Swedish. So what compels us to go? For one thing, I like to get out of the house. For another, the structure (as far as I can tell) follows the structure of our church service at home. Greetings, readings, sermon, offertory, communion, dismissal...with some music thrown in. Even in Swedish, church feels like home. The language is so melodic, that I enjoy just listening, understanding doesn't even matter. For the most part I think they're saying, "God is here and he loves you"...that's all I need. It's also the best Swedish lesson I could think of. They project all the words on a big screen in front, and because people are either singing or reciting, it's slower than conversation, which makes it much easier for us to follow!

Back to the "music thrown in"...that comment hardly does the incredible music justice. They have Magdalena, who I think is the main music person, but they have other musical personnel, as well. She has a voice that makes you want to weep, it's so beautiful. This past week, Magdalena wasn't there, so they had guest musicians who played the flute and cello. I was so glad that we went. Fellowship always follows mass and is more than just a sweet roll and bitter coffee...the fellowship goodies here are a big hunk of cheese set out on a platter with chewy, grainy rolls, some veggies and a table with goodies, coffee and tea. It's a little meal! This past week, Jeff was feeling uncomfortable about staying. The crowd was larger than any other week and, quite frankly, it really is uncomfortable just standing there hoping someone will talk to you. Mass ended and Thomas sent us on our way with, what I assume was a blessing. As we were walking out Jeff whispered, "let's just go home"...two seconds later, however, Roland was shaking our hands and asking if we could stay for fellowship. Who am I to say to no to good food and possible conversation?

Finally, I understand Mrs. Maria Garcia. She's a woman from Mexico who's husband, Acedro, has been working in Howard for 14 years, sending all of his earnings back to his family in Mexico. Maria has visited a few times, and she and my Mom have become friends in spite of the fact that Mom knows absolutely no Spanish and Maria knows absolutely no English. Mom first met Maria when she saw her at church several years ago and, being the smart woman that she is, Mom figured out her connection to Acedro. When we were out in Howard this summer, Mom brought Maria out to the house after church one day...Maria sat with our family the entire day, while Acedro was at work, and didn't speak one word of English. Now I understand why Maria was going to church...it was the only place she could sort of understand, maybe the only place that felt a little like home. I also have even greater respect for my Mom for just taking Maria by the hand and offering fellowship and friendship, without a spoken word. Kindness is universal.





Advertisement



3rd September 2008

Beautiful!
This is beautiful! When Aaron and I were in Puerto Rico this past January we met and befriended a woman who was a Mexican-American but moved to PR because her husband's family was there. She spoke both Spanish and English which was wonderful for us as she took us to vairous places on the island. When we left she gave me a Christian CD of her favorite Spanish speaking musician. It's true, I couldn't understand a word this person was singing...but I could definetely feel it in my soul!!
3rd September 2008

Red Wedges and a Priest!
Loved that image - almost felt like I was there giggling too! Keep writing - this is a highlight for me! Love to you and all, KK
5th September 2008

words not needed
It just goes to show that communication does go beyond words. Messages are understood in music, in certain glances, and in mere presence. Words sometimes just get in the way.

Tot: 0.474s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb