Sweden-Malmo


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Blekinge County
September 23rd 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

THE CALATRVA TWISTED SPINE HIGH RISE
Today I spent the day in Malmo, Sweden, about 40 kilometers east of Copenhagen, across the Orsund straight, connecting the North Sea and the Baltic sea, over the Orsund bridge connecting Sweden and Denmark...Enough information in that one sentence...I started the morning very early...I walked all the way to the central station, about 30 mins walk from the apartment, when I realized I did not bring along the Eurail pass. The one way ticket to Malmo costed about 40 US dollars, so I paid 2 US dollars caught the bus back and forth to and from the apartment. I lost about 2 hours and did not end up going to Holsingor, Elsinore, as planned, but I saw and traveled the Orsund bridge and got to see Malmo and Calatrava's Twisted Torso high rise facing the bridge and the North sea...It was amazing...I had a great time...It was cool and very windy. I ended up having lunch at an Italian cafe by the sea. As tradition would have it, the owner was Iranian and would not take money from me...So the entire day costed me about 4.00 dollars...Actually not, I treated myself to no diamonds, but a beautiful Danish glass vase. I
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

NEW HOUSING PROJECTS IN NORTHERN MALMO
tell ya the Scandinavians love them glass...I walked back to the hotel via the harbor...Said goodbye to the little murmaid waiting patiently on a rock cropping...It was raining...
This is the end of this leg of my trip. I am heading to Frankfurt-Karlsruhe tomorrow evening to visit Alex my nephew...I will add and subtract more to these entries and will also add the pictures...
It has been wonderful...I loved the low countries and Denmark. I felt very comfortable in all the these places, except maybe Amsterdam, where the density got to me...I love to travel and I love to talk to strangers...
Hope you are well...
Love to you all...
M


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

THE ORSUND BRISGE-VIEW FROM NORTH MALMO


Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb