mallorca


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
November 29th 2013
Published: November 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Barcelona on Saturday last week and spent several days with Nicky and Tim at their flat in Barcelona. First, I really love Spanish shoes. They fit my feet. I bought 3 pair of shoes in Barcelona. I could by more if I had more room in my suitcase.

Thanksgiving morning I flew to Mallorca. this gave Nicky and Tim a day without me. :-) It's cold here. I took the hop on and hop off tour bus. This was great as it gave me a good feel on the city and well, it started to rain and I could stay dry. I did hop off at the castle, I got wet, but it was worth it. I love history and the museum there had the history of the island. Then back to Palma. I had a great lunch - thai chicken salad and a little shopping. Then back to the hotel for aftenoon tea, a quick nap and catch up on email and make lots of calls to the states (over my computer) to talk with everyone for thanksgiving.

I talked with Nicky and Tim and gave them several options on things to do when they get here. I couldn't believe that of the 3 main things Tim said the train was the last one. So I got up this morning and took the old train to Soler. I walked to the station, bought the ticket and then shopped for a bit before the departure. Found a great sweater at Mango. I love my new sweater.

The train to Soler was interesting but , guess what, it started to rain. Sigh. In Soler I took the tram to the Port (another city over) and was going to spend time there but everything was closed. It was pretty, but I stayed on the tram and went back to Soler. Got to Soler right at siesta, so I found a great restaurant and had a great lunch and wine. Then back on the train to Palma. I just can't take the cool light rain.

In Palma, walked thru old town and in and out of shops to stay warm, them back to the hotel for a quick nap. Nicky and Tim arrived around 7. We talked for a bit then left and started out into the city. We walked for a while then decided to eat Japanese, it's what Nicky wanted. It was very good and we had Saki sangria. It was good. Now back at the hotel and Nicky and Tim are taking a jacuzzi in the jacuzzi in the room. What a hotel.

Tomorrow we are going to Santa Maria. I had hoped to do this wine tour with dinner there - sounded great on the web but they are closed this weekend for a wine festival in Santa Maria. So we are going to go to the festival. I hope it doesn't rain. so far I'm 2 for 2 on the rain days.

Hopefully I will add more to the blog tomorrow.

Claire

Advertisement



30th November 2013

Cold here too...
When I travel to Spain with you to visit Nicky and Tim, let's make it during warm weather season :-)

Tot: 2.046s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 1.466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb