My trip (by the numbers)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
July 26th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm back. The trip was an amazing experience; I'm so glad I made it happen. It was stressful at times, but given the 'wing it' nature of my planning things went very smoothly. I came back with everything I left with except my flip flops which fell out of my bag on a flight. I never felt threatened or unwelcome once. I met some great people and learned a lot about the world and myself.

I move back to NYC next week and start the next phase of my life. I hope during my next transition I can do this again..

I'm a numbers guy - can't help it:

Countries: 8 - New Zealand, Australia, Kenya, Tanzania, U.A.E., Morocco, Spain, France (not counting 1hr in Bangkok airport)

Time Zones crossed: 24

Days travelled: 53

Hotel Reservations: 1

Flights: 16 flights / 74 hours / 33,947miles

Pictures taken: 1950+

Books read: Undaunted Courage, Papillion, I am Charlotte Simmons, The Beach, A Long Way Down

Workouts: 0 (didn't even bring my running shoes)

Modes of transportation: plane, train, bus, subway, funicular, car, camper, ferry, parachute, camel, horse, innertube, dalla-dalla, fins/scuba, abseil

Coolest experiences: Tongariro crossing and skydiving (NZ), Mt. Kili and Crater safari(TZ), Camel safari (Mor), Tour de France

Biggest dissapointments: Great barrier reef, Blue mountains (Aus), passing through Asia without stopping, not swinging by Pamplona for running of bulls (we were only 1hr away)




Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb