Jerez & Sevilla


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 4th 2009
Published: October 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sherry tour, and scooter ride


My plan, when I decided to go to Jerez, was to go on a Sherry tour. I have discovered I really like Fino Sherry! I arrived in Jerez too late, and was leaving too early, to do a sherry tour at one of the wineries. The owner of the hotel very sweetly gave me a lecture and 'tour' in the roof-top bar at the hotel. I tasted Fino, (coastal white), Montilla, and He also told me about the building of the hotel (they've only been in business a year and a half), and how he and his wife ended up owning that bit of property. It was two mansions just next door to a convent, and was under construction for nearly 3 years. He said the gardens were a jungle when they bought the properties; they are quite lovely now, with roses, a tree with tiny white night blooming flowers, and a vine which had flowers that looked like snails (the seed pod looked like green beans). Julia L. will likely know what they all are!

This morning the hotel owner was arriving as I was leaving, and offered me a ride to the train station on his scooter. My suitcase was on the foot-rest just behind the handle bars, my day-pack under the seat. Helmets on, we went scooting down tiny little roads around town.

Arriving Sevilla


The Sevilla train station actually has a TI! In most cities, the TI is in some central location - you have to figure out how to get there before you receive a map (as a reward?). I asked which bus to take at the TI, and got onto the bus successfully, but it stopped long before we got to anywhere near my hotel. Map in hand, I had quite the adventure finding my way to the plaza near my hotel and then to my hotel. By the time I arrived, I had forgotten how much they had quoted for the room, and the receptionist had no record of them having spoken to me. We negotiated a price, and then she asked for the first night in advance. This is the first time that has happened, so I am a little nervous. Ah, well, there were 140 hotels in Sevilla with empty rooms on bookings.com; I won't have a problem finding another - perhaps one with internet! 😊

Ok, off to explore Sevilla!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb