Font D'Algar, Guadalest, and Villajoiosa


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
March 28th 2007
Published: March 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The crackThe crackThe crack

The crack leading to the spring
Rented a car and had a little adventure near Benidorm, Spain. Font D'Algar or waterfalls was our first stop. I will go ahead and say this wasn't as cool as I thought it would be, but nevertheless it was neat. I was expecting WATERFALLS, but only got waterfalls. O’well, I still enjoyed this part. We walked through the trails, obviously seeing small waterfalls and places to jump off into the water. Unfortunately I had no swimming gear, so I didn't get to enjoy the cold water (remembering I am from Florida, aka warm water). We continued walking until we found a sign that said DO NOT PASS; naturally we passed it and found a opening in the paths. The opening had two large rock walls with a gap in between where the water flowed through. This water trail leads to the spring. I will return with board shorts, so I can hike the cool trails then go hang out in the spring for a couple hours while sipping on a ice cold beverage.
Guadalest has a 12th century castle built by the Moors. Between attacks and earthquakes much of the castle as been destroyed. The view from the castle was
No PassarNo PassarNo Passar

um... what sign
amazing. There was some of the bluest water I have ever seen in my life. We should of went into that water and into the castle, but we only stayed on the outer banks of both. Back in the car and back on the winding roads.
Last stop was Villajoiosa, why? I don't know, but we stopped and hung out for a little while. The city has multi colored buildings and a cool bridge, but other then that, nothing. Since I was running on about three hours of sleep, I was getting a little grumpy and just wanted to go home and sleep. So, the trip was over... Probably could have written this better if I would of wrote it after it happened, but it’s been over a month. Details have faded, plus it wasn't that interesting, with exception to the waterfalls.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Font D'Algar Font D'Algar
Font D'Algar

Just hanging around
Guadalest TortillaGuadalest Tortilla
Guadalest Tortilla

Eating a tortilla in Guadalest
GuadalestGuadalest
Guadalest

The castle
waterwater
water

that is some blue water


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 76; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.2mb