Paws on Horchata


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
June 21st 2015
Published: June 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Feeding the cat

Arriving Valencia at noon, I decided to check out the central market. The market closes relatively early ( around 3), so travelers should be aware of that. if you have been to the mercado de la boqueria in Barcelona, you would recognize some similarity. However, this market in Valencia has more than just food, its lovely architecture and glass window provided a lovely atmosphere.

I sat down in Central bar and ordered some local food. Oreja de Cerdo ( pig ears ) might seems weird to many foreign travelers, but its texture and taste left a great impression in me. I also ordered the costilla de cerdo (pork ribs) which is a little dry but overall pretty nice. The central bar is a cheap and popular spot among local and travelers, so expect a bit of wait.

I also went and try the famous Horchata (tiger milk) and Fartons in El Collado and fell in love with it !! This amazing snack is a Valencia special other than the Valencia paella. Horchata is a drink with a refreshing taste during the hot summer heat.



Cat in town

Walking around the city of Valencia is quite pleasant. I walk to the famous Ciudad de Ciencias y Artes. On the way, I saw a naked bike race. The architecture of Ciudad de Ciencias y Artes is impressive and they have many interesting events at night.



A scared cat in the bus station

As I am budgeting most of the time, I chose to take the bus from Valencia to Granada which is overnight. The journey was around 8 hours and costed 50 euros. The bus station was very dark at night and didn't have a lot of people. As I was sitting on the bench, the guy next to me suddenly jumped and I saw a cockroach sliding off his pants. Luckily the bus arrived at that moment, and I just jumped on the bus quickly. The bus journey was not too nice because it turned on the light every hour to announce the stop so I didn't sleep well, but the good thing is I got an empty seat next to me so I was able to have more space.



What I will do next time:

1. I would love to try the traditional paella however the goods restaurants only provide paella for 2 person. The traditional Valencia paella does not have any seafood, but rather have rabbit meat in it. It also generally requires at least 30 minutes to cook and some good restaurants would even require you to book a day in advance.

2. I would still take the bus because of economic concern but get ready with earplugs and shades.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb