Dreaming


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
January 5th 2015
Published: January 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

An old woman approached my friends and me in la Plaza de la Virgen the other day. She asked if we were from Valencia. No, we aren’t. A thirty minute flood of love and pride poured out of her tiny wrinkled lips; she explained in great detail all the places we should go, cushioning her words with reverent sighs and disclaimers: although she adores her city, we might not, and to each their own.

In the States, any discussion of life is incomplete without mentioning the struggle — “it’s real”. Be the most popular fourth grader; get straight As and never waste your time playing in the sun, it’s dangerous; don’t forget, youth is temporary and once you’ve lived long enough your life is not worth living.

In Valencia, cheap wine is the same price as a bottle of water. It could be part of an unspoken consensus that enjoying life is more important than fighting for superiority. I am, however, looking at Valencia from the outside perspective of a tourist; those lucky enough to reside here are surely experiencing their own turmoil. I hope that I will become truly immersed, that I’ll understand the culture enough to know their definition of hardship. It all still feels like a glowing, incredible dream for now.

I’m surprised at how much time I spend on my balcony wondering if I’m really in Spain. On the cobblestone below there is a man in yellow suspenders and a navy shirt and bowler hat. He sells balloon animals from his cart for a couple of euro. Bells ring at the cathedral in la Plaza and somewhere nearby a trumpet wails. The only reason this might be real is because I feel the wind rush down the alley and the air is lighter in my lungs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb