Bombs?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
January 26th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Parque en el ríoParque en el ríoParque en el río

There's an area of Valencia known as el río or "the river." As far as I can tell it used to be the sight of a river that dried up ages ago. Now it's been turned into a huge park with scenic gardens, bike paths, ponds, and the coolest playground I've ever seen in my life. I'll go back there soon and take pictures of just it.
So I was trying to go to sleep last night and kept hearing these incredibly loud explosions. I figured it must be construction or something, but as I was laying in bed the horrible explosion noises just got more frequent and intense. The sound kept reverberating off all of the buildings, so you could even feel the loud bangs. Bombs? I kept picturing my street getting blown apart. If freaked me out so I ran to my roommate's room. She was a little freaked out too. We looked out of her window, though, and people were walking by or driving in their cars as if nothing unusual was happening. Preceding the thundering noises would be these strange flashes in the sky right behind some buildings. We decided it couldn't be bombs because there would be much more panic and mayhem. So, we decided not to worry about it.
We asked our host mother abouth the noises this morning and she said it was fireworks and firecrackers being set off in the central part of the city because a girl had just been crowned the Las Fallas Queen (like Miss America, except for a big holiday here in Valencia). Las Fallas is
Ciudad de las Artes y CienciasCiudad de las Artes y CienciasCiudad de las Artes y Ciencias

One of the buildings in a series of very modern, space-like buildings that represent several different museums for art and science. I haven't been inside any yet, but the outstide is pretty cool.
a five-day-long celebration in March that Valencia is famous for. It includes incredibly beautiful and elaborate floats costing thousands of dollars to make, which are paraded down the streets and then set on fire the last day. Also, there's a winning float that is chosen every year and saved from a fiery end and is instead preserved in a museum near here. I think I'll go tomorrow since most museums are open and free on Sundays when everything else is closed. Las Fallas also includes the largest influx of tourists that Valencia ever gets at any time. Our host mom says it gets so chaotic and busy during those five days that it's hard to even walk down the streets. However, even though the celebration isn't for another month and a half, there will be lots of fireworks and firecrackers being set off until then. And, sure enough, it's a noise I've heard a lot even today.
Anyway, not much to report here. I started classes this week and really love them all. The teachers are all a lot of fun and enthusiastic, and even though they talk fast I'm happy to say that I can understand everything. So, my
Cool Statue Cool Statue Cool Statue

I walk by this every day on my way home. It's one of my visual cues for when I get lost.
Spanish must be getting better!! YAY! I've also had some time to wander around the city a lot more and get to know it better. Soon I think I'll even be able to retire my trusty old map. That's a huge step.
Today I walked around the cetnral part of the city and got to visit the Cathedral and all of these beautiful plazas. I also saw pigeons for the first time today. I was beginning to think this city didn't have any animals whatsoever other than pet dogs that muck up the sidewalks. But, pigeons live here too. Nothing else, as far I can tell. I haven't even seen rats at night.
I'll attach some photos of the city to this entry -- ones from just walking around near where I live and also ones from the central part of the city, with lots of old buildings.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Peris y ValeroPeris y Valero
Peris y Valero

This is the beginning of my street (which is insanely long).
Burger KingBurger King
Burger King

We got a craving for french fries. Surprise, surprise, they taste exactly the same as at home. Mmmm
Plaza de TorrosPlaza de Torros
Plaza de Torros

The site of bullfights. But also the site of many tiny vendors selling souvenirs when bullfights aren't taking place.
Traditional GarbTraditional Garb
Traditional Garb

I still haven't figured where/when this is worn. I'm assuming some sort of religious holiday. But, there are stores everywhere selling them.
Plaza de AyuntamientoPlaza de Ayuntamiento
Plaza de Ayuntamiento

This is the fountain on the other side of the plaza. The plaza itself is a huge space of marble with flower vendors around the edges. The plaza is then flanked by two large, old buildings.
Plaza de Ayuntamiento at nightPlaza de Ayuntamiento at night
Plaza de Ayuntamiento at night

This is one of the buildings all lit up at night.
Beautiful old churchBeautiful old church
Beautiful old church

And right across the street and three or four buildings down is one of my favorite places to go dancing at night.
Plaza de la ReinaPlaza de la Reina
Plaza de la Reina

The is "Plaza of the Queen" with a glimpse of part of the old Cathedral in the background.
I want this kitten!I want this kitten!
I want this kitten!

This is just a random advertisement from a bank in the Plaza de la Reina, but I'm me and so of course I took a picture of it. My roommate saw me and said "I just knew you were going to do that." She knows me so well after only about a week.
TowerTower
Tower

Highest part of el Catedral.
FacadeFacade
Facade

The front of the Cathedral. Too bad about the power lines -- they definitely detract
InsideInside
Inside

None of my camera settings worked well in this lighting, sadly. So these are all sort of dark and unimpressive.


29th January 2008

Pictures
I love looking at the pictures Molly as I know it is all I will ever see of Spain. Keep on having fun and keep up with the classes. Love You Nanny

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.066s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb