Recovering in Valencia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
September 4th 2007
Published: October 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

First impressions weren’t too good. I got off the ferry and the line up for the taxi was all over the place. No taxis were coming so any that did come were jumped upon. It took about 2 hours to get out of the port.

Checked in to my Hostel : Red Nest Hostel. C/La Paz, 36 Valencia. Nesthostelsvalencia.com. Met the lovely Amy (or was that Victoria) and went out for a bite to eat before hitting bed.

Mmmmm sleep - I got 13hrs sleep. It’s a lovely day so Amy and I hit the beach. Easy to get around here. We jumped on bus 32 which took us right to the beach. Lovely long, sandy beach (a bit different to the little bays on Ibiza) Water was warm n wet, just what I needed. Spent the afternoon just chilling and trying to recharge my batteries.

We picked up a brochure for a pub crawl so decided to do it but.. There were not enough people doing it, so it was called off, so the 8 of us decided to do our own pub crawl. I’d love to tell you where we went but I can’t remember, but I can remember that it was a huge night. Met some lovely locals who took us to more underground clubs - more dancing, just what I needed. I must have needed more sleep though coz I got another 13hrs again!

Have been out walking the streets photographing doors, churches, alleys, and people. This city is soo picturesque and I find it easy to get around, just wandering the streets.

The Mercado Central is a favourite. Since medieval times this location has been used as a place of commerce. The activity began around down, when traders started setting up their stalls, and this hub of commercial activity remained busy until the day was done. In 1839 it was officially established as an open air market, and was later covered with a roof. At the turn of the century there was the need of a bigger and more adequate construction.

The Central Market is one of the biggest market halls with the widest range of products offered in Europe. Various smells and a constant clamor fill the air and the products sold range from meat, snails, seafood, fruits and vegetables. I got my fix of fresh fruit and pastries from here.

I walked past the Plaza de Toros. I don’t agree with Bull fighting so didn't go in but wanted to see it as it’s a copy of the Amphitheatre of Favio Marcelo in Rome. The first bull runs took place in 1851, although it wasn’t officially inaugurated until June 1859.

I’ve walked everywhere and past everything. Past the museo historico municple, and the correos, the museo de ceramica ‘gonzalez marti, the Micalet bell tower and way too many churches to name and all the fountains too. The jardines del Turia is a dry river bed that has been converted to public space. It’s full of walking and riding tracks, football fields, parks, gardens, swings - everything you need and enough room for everyone - what a great idea.

Food - I’ve had a bit of a dilemma with the food. There is a tapas bar that is just too good to walk past so I find myself in there for most meals. My dilemma is, do I try different restaurants in every city I visit or do I stick to what I know is good and value for money. Well, in Valencia I’m sticking to La Taberna de la Reina; Pza de le Reina. It’s right at the main cathedral so good for people watching too and it's kinda nice to feel a bit like a local sometimes. Friendly staff always making me feel very welcome.

I really did get a chance to recharge my batteries and am now looking forward to a bit more exploring. Next stop.....Alicante x



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb