Spain - Alicante


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
June 20th 2012
Published: June 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Santa Barbara Castle Santa Barbara Castle Santa Barbara Castle

The castle looms over the city, but not oppressively. A good hike up the hill
Work took me to the seaside town and tourist resort of Alicante. Yes indeed, sometime my work (in agriculture) has advantages, this time talking to folk about saffron. Spain is not only the home of delicious paella, but the place where traditionally the key spice ingredient was grown. That industry has now declined (90%!c(MISSING)omes from Iran but that's another story) however the trading houses remain located in Alicante and the nearby town of Novelda about 15 km inland.

So off I went from Barcelona (I could equally have flow to Valencia or Madrid but the Sagrada Familia was on my "bucket list" so I took that option). I travelled by the express train from Sants Station in Barca; a truly excellent experience, about 190 Euros return First Class in complete comfort, on time and just under 5 hours. The train service is Renfe (click for their web site ), great value.

Although this was February the weather was superb and being off-season the town itself not crowded. I like Alicante, at least when there's no crowds, the Marina and the promenade present a very pleasant walk from the town centre and the castle that looms over the harbour is quite spectacular.
Back streetsBack streetsBack streets

There are some nice back streets where you find restaurants and the occasional glimpse of the Castle

What I did not find was great food and bizarrely no paella - the best place to eat that seemed to be in Barcelona - check out Elche's Restaurant . The best eatery in Alicante was the cheapest, a music bar named TriBeCa set in a back street which had a truly excellent hamburger and cold beer. Otherwise the more up-market restaurants I tried were "touristy" or pretentious and somewhat over-priced.

My hotel was the N.H. Cristal , in the town centre, nicely situated a little bit up the hill but still only 10 minutes easy walk from the sea front and about the same from the rail station. I think I paid 40 Euros for a clean but rather gloomy room, but with internet connection, an excellent breakfast and nice friendly people (in fact I found all the people I dealt with in Spain exceptionally nice - even the clerk that sold me my train ticket was helpful and friendly, a real lesson for other countries that value visitors).

Would I come back purely as a tourist? Sure if I was in in the area, probably not to make a special visit (I would love to live in Barcelona
TriBeCa Music BarTriBeCa Music BarTriBeCa Music Bar

And in one of those back streets actually the best hamburger and (for me) best food value in Alicante
by contrast), but all in all, really nice. Hang out around the Marina... smell that sea air.

Map


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

EsplanadeEsplanade
Esplanade

In a Gaudiesque style the paving slabs on the Eaplanade make you dizzy..very difficult to walk in straight line - or maybe that was the beer!


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb