Gifts of the Camino - Friends


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
July 22nd 2013
Published: July 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Last night of the Camino - hotel just 10k fr Santiago. Wow a night of a real shower, real towels, a room with A/C, no snoring people, and food delivered to my room. Have to say its delightful but it also feels very strange.

The last couple days I have walked with a new friend - Jess from Pennsylvania who oddly enough - lol - is a teacher. The days of walking solo, and the need to, have melted away. Jess and I still seek out the albergue, or in the case of tonight the hotel, that is not where the masses are staying, so that when we walk we walk on a Camino much like the one we started on. Once in a while the hordes of newbies catch us or we catch them. We just kick the walk into high gear for a bit and leave them behind. That way we can walk in peace - enjoying our musings with each other or musing to ourselves or just enjoying the walk. Yes I said enjoying the walk. The Camino has changed and now it is definitely me not The Way, but the walk is still full of beauty and wonder and miracles! More and more I see friends and take a moment to chat. Or I make some new friends and chat or stop for coffee. Now the blessings are becoming more and more in the people and also the things Jess and I chat about - ideas about what we have earned, how we would like to be, things we have observed, hopes and plans for the future, and sometimes just silly things. Once again God, thru the Camino, has given me new miracles and gifts. Ones I wasn't looking for, but have become so aware of these past few days! All the AMAZING people I have met from all over the world. PEOPLE I CAN NOW CALL FRIENDS!!! I have been lucky to recommect with a few from the beginning that have now caught up since I have been killing time since I didn't want to be in Santiago before tomorrow. The ones I wonder if I will ever see again and the regulars I see and get to chat with almost every day.

These people have touched my life so profoundly. Each has provided me with friendship and laughter, comfort and support, wisdom and insight and so much more. It is a strange thought to realize after tomorrow I won't go thru the routine of getting up and walking, but even stranger and harder to deal with is to not see these dear people anymore! Wednesday we will meet at noon at the Cathedral to go to mass together and then all descend on the kitchen of the Semenario Mayor to cook a pilgrim's meal together. Some will be missing, some we won't see again and some we will walk with or at least see at Finisterre. Each has a special place in m heart and I want to thank them all and wish them Buen Camino right now.

Geri from Australia. My first friend and walking buddy on the Camino! Thank you for those first few days. Liz and Greg you also were my comfort in those first few scary days. I was so glad to see you again today Greg. Kevin Michael Davis - wherever you are IMISS YOU! I miss your smile and encouragement and your coffee and beer drinking! I hope you made it - or will make it to Santiago. My FAB Four - HeeHoon and Rim from Korea, Eva from Tawian and Jean from France. Oh the good times we have walking and eating and hanging out together. Also the good talks we had and the great friendship! I have missed you these last days, but you are always in my heart. Jeroen - my 10am drinking buddy, my how can we fix the world buddy, my oh screw it all buddy and my soulmate when it comes to disliking bullfights! You walked from your door in Holland and Thursday I will see you again in Santiago! I can't wait! Hugo where are you? I miss you my dear Swedish friend. Another great young man who has inspired me like others mentioned before. You and Jeroen with your damn long legs that made me walk so fast to keep up! I feel the world has a chance to be a better place with young men like you in it. And how could I EVER leave out my Camino Angels - Emily and Chanelle. You were my spirit and inspiration and comfort and strength. Your faith inspired and lifted me - God did truly send me angels in you two! Erin and Kirsten - we worried when we met you on the Pyrenees fresh out of high school and so innocent and young that you wouldn't make it. Look at you both now! YOU TWO ARE AMAZING - TOTALLY ROCK! Know that I love you. Wow and I was sent Vicky and Dano - you aren't too far away so I hope we will meet again. Great friends, great fun, and just plain great people. Love ya much! Oh Roxanne I dare not forget you. How will I find all the cool places to stop for a coffee or beer or eats or anything. You are the best coolness indicator I know. Beatrice you shared with me your miracle and blessed me with your story! I loved the short time I walked with you. Jessica and the boys .....Nick, Brett, and Tim. The coolest gang on the Camino. Full of fun and love and all things good. My time with you was not long enough. Jessica I WILL be visitng you in San Antonio! Brett I would love to be there when you are ordained a priest as well! Can't wait to see some of you in Santiâgo. Daniel, from Columbia, and also your mother Claudie - just didn't have enough time. I need to know you both better! I am excited to see you again in Santiago Daniel! And Jess - my newest friend. Isn't ironic, we have only just met, but we will walk into Santiago together. I have told you you were a gift and I haven't explained, nor will I here, but it seems fit I walk into Santiago with you. You were the most recentt gift and miracle sent to me. Walking with you these past few days has given me a new hope and also helped bring the Camino full circle for me. When I need to end my walk in solitutde I was given a great friend to lead me back to the path of friendship. You are an amazing young woman, and I prayer the Camino has blessed you with what you needed.

There are more - perhaps I will touch on them later. The ones thatonly touched my life for a day or maybe only an hour or two or even less, but they touched me and they all gave me something! As I think of my life back home - those people that touch me daily are all there; now I just need to go home and appreciate them and see them as the gifts and the miracles they are!

BUEN CAMINO!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb