The End of the Road


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
June 4th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

"My feet ache. My left ankle aches. My achilles tendon is visibly swollen. My back is crooked from the weight of my pack. Am I going to need a chiropractor when I get back to the States?" These are the thoughts that filled my mind as we slogged through our LAST day of walking the Camino.

Once we arrived at the cathedral, I could not really grasp the fact that we had finally arrived at our destination. I donĀ“t know if it was the sight of the magnificant facade or that there was finally some sun out, but we decided to lie right down on the ground and soak it all in...the view, the warmth, the fact that the walk was over. Oh, how happy I was!

Evening came and we spent the hours in tapas bars sharing laughs, food, and sangria with our Camino friends. Slowly, it started to dawn on me...I was going to miss this. I was going to miss these people. I was going to miss the ones we had become friends with and even the ones I only shared a passing "Buen Camino" with. Despite my desire to recover from all my soreness, I was truly saddened that we had come to the end of the road. No more yellow arrows to point us in the right direction each day. Will life ever be so simple again?

I do not think I am yet aware of all that I have gained from the Camino experience, but I know I will have time to think about it on the train!!! To Be Continued...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb