David


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Extremadura » Cuacos de Yuste
June 18th 2012
Published: June 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

One of the best experiences of my trip was meeting David and getting the chance to spend a few weeks together in Salamanca. He is a dreamer if ever I met one and once he finished his photography project in Morocco, he hitch-hiked his way across Spain to be with me. We spent our days talking politics (mainly Spain and the US), the suffering in the world and its imbalances, and all the ways we want to help others. We also had the chance to do some traveling together-car camping in what is now one of my favorite regions-Extramadura (a gorgeous area of small pueblos practically untouched by tourism and modernity). David challenged me in so many important ways and I feel renewed in the challenge to be a better person, to live a better life.

His dream is to return to South America again and travel in a van for a year or two, taking pictures for his next project. He offered for me to stay illegally in Spain with him for a bit and then join him on his excursion to South America. I came very close to taking his offer, but for a few distinct reasons declined in the end. I confess I am still wondering if I made the right choice. But, one of the bigger reasons for declining revealed itself to me when one day, while looking through one of his photo-journalist books, I saw a photo of a drug raid on a house in LA. The moment I saw a photo of the children in that house, it hit me like a ton of bricks that I am not done with my work in the States. Not to mention the countless number of dreams I’ve had about my kids while here. It’s funny, but if there is only one thing I am clear about in my life, it’s my job and how much I love it. So I take with me everything David taught me and showed me about myself, and hope to be a better person and social worker because of it.

Here are some photos of us and our time together (scroll down the page to see them listed)...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb