Poquito de Cáceres


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Extremadura » Cáceres
September 21st 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Queridos amigos,

The first week of classes is finished but the homework is not. The professors are wonderful and understand that some of us still need the Spanish spoken clearly and slowly. This weekend I will go to Valencia de Alcánteres a small pueblo not far from Cáceres where Téresa (my mom here in Spain) grew up. She says that we will stay in the old house (that could mean centuries old, I don´t know) on her family´s farm. I am excited to see the orange trees and olive trees and the cold cellar.

Ciao,

Clair


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

TorreTorre
Torre

One of the towers of the fortification walls around Old Cáceres. The towers have been rebuilt over centuries so each is distinct and many are centuries older than otheres.
Plaza mayorPlaza mayor
Plaza mayor

The old plaza mayor of Cáceres. But certainly not the oldest. This is outside the Old City´s walls and there are numerous small squares inside the Old City from as early as the 13th century. This plaza is much younger...maybe 300 years old...no sé
San JorgeSan Jorge
San Jorge

Statue of Saint George killing the dragon in the very old Plaza de San Jorge, in the heart of Old Cáceres.


21st September 2006

Truffles
C, Thanks for keeping me posted, sounds like a great experience so far. Ask if they know where to find "trifeles" (aka truffles). Recall, these are subteranean delicacies that are produced by ectomycorrhizal fungi. Spain is a great place for them to grow. Learn lots and have fun! Pete
22nd September 2006

Recuerdos de Espana
I am so happy for you, Clair, that you have finally gotten back to Spain. I know how enthusiastic you are about the country and the culture and I hope you have a marvelous time. I'm also glad that your mom contacted me and added me to the list of those receiving your blog. I can hardly wait to hear your comments on Valencia, as that is where I went to the university in the early 70's! Keep the info coming! Sra. Dort

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb