Mess with the bulls and you are going to get the horns


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 4th 2011
Published: September 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Mess with the bulls and you are going to get the horns
I wake up Sunday in Madrid with the plan to head off on a 1 hour bus ride to Seguila for a few hours and then get back in time to Madrid for the Sunday night bull fight.
Seguila is known to have one of the top two remaining roman aqueducts in Europe. It did not disappoint. It is in a gorge and the city decide to build all around it. You could wake up in the morning to a view everyday of an ancient aqueduct just feet from your bedroom window. But really, there was nothing else to do here, so I was in and out of this city in an 90 mins, and that included lunch.
Get back to Madrid, buy a ticket for the bull fight before getting back to my place and take a siesta.
This will be my last night in Madrid and I get to hang out with a personal translator from Mexico City who gives me the ins and outs of bull fighting and then we go to tapas and bar hopping both before and after the bull fight.
For the bull fight we get 2nd row seats just feet from the action. The first bullfighter looked to be about 17 years old, nervous and it was BAD. On the bulls first pass he loses his cape, and on the 2nd and 4th pass he gets hit by the bull. It was pretty bad. If you mess with the bull, expect to get the horns. The bull fighter seems to have gotten away with just bruises and no major injuries, I think it was his first fight. You could hear a few Americans in the stands yelling “no” and screaming with anguish when the actual fighting and stabbing of the bull started and the bull went after the horse. After the first of 6 bull fights finished, about 20% of the just crowd left. We decided to stay the entire time.
I find out what a Cana’s is (pronounced can-yas). It is a small beer (think 8-9 oz’s) and in Madrid they come with a small plate of food. It could be lays potato chips, pieces of sausage, bread with tomatoes on it, pieces of dried ham, ect. It makes a fun combination of tapas and beer hopping. We go canas hopping until the weeee hours and then crash. There is no way we are the only ones doing this, and its not just a tourist thing. This is what the Spaniards do. When in Rome…
After the long night of Canas hopping I get up to check out and head to Toledo for either the night or the day. I wake up tired and I am already looking forward to my siesta. When I arrive into Toledo I ask the tourist office “donde esta bueno para sieta en a parque” Again it loosely translates to “where is good for a nap in the park” She laughs and I guarantee she has never gotten that question before. For how great Toledo is, there are no parks. It is very dry and has a Mediterranean climate, with many olive trees around, but no parks 
Instead I get onto a double decker bus and take a tour of the city. The views were great on the otherside of the river looking into the city. There is a vista and it would have been a great place for a grassy knoll or park, but no… just a picnic bench.
I walk around for hours with all my bags on because I never thought to leave them in a locker at the train station because I was not sure if I would stay here for the night or not. The highlights of this city was looking at it from the other side of the river and eating Mazapan. Mazapan is a candy or sweet dough product that had the consistency of slightly undercooked cookie dough and was fantastic. It is something I definitely will be looking out for on the rest of my trip or back in the US. I stopped into 3 different shops throughout the city to eat some more.
I leave Toledo after a 3-4 hours and head back to Madrid for a brief layover before heading to Seville for a 2nd look.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.046s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb