Santiago to Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 20th 2010
Published: June 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Panorama Sunrise through the wheat


Day 86 - 94

Sylke and I had 2 days in Santiago to relax and enjoy the atmosphere after the stroll across Spain. So what better way than to commence the festivities than eating great food and having a few vinos to wash it down. We found a great little restaurant. At first we weren't too sure about this place. The staff weren't too keen on rushing over to us. There were a couple of dodgy women sitting at the end table. A few locals drifted in and out. But they served real steak! Some restaurants have the meat or seafood in the window so that we could choose what we want. So when I saw a cut of beef that made me drool, I felt like I was back at the Brekky Creek. The food was delicious.

After dinner we ran into a couple of spanish pilgrims we had met along the way. We asked about the best bar to go in Santiago...the Retablo. So after a few wrong turns we finally found it. It's empty but for a few people. It's a disco as well and nightlife in Spain doesn't start until after midnight. We learned about a special Spanish drink, Queimada (which means 'burning'), and watched the procedure for making it and had a taste of it too. This is where we met Tiago and Alexandra from Portugal and Jennifer from US. It was a late night and late nights are better enjoyed when we know that we don't have to get up early.

The day was taken with sightseeing. Sylke went to the mass and I found a great cafe along the final stretch of the camino. I would sit at a cafe on the corner where the pilgrims pass on their way in to the cathedral. It gave me great pleasure to see their faces. The looks of relief, of happiness that they have arrived and the sadness that it's over. It was like reliving the final steps for me, too.

This night was our last together. Sylke must leave for the airport around 7 ish in the morning. But in true last night spirit we ventured out to enjoy the nightlife and ended back at the Retablo for another bout of Queimada. Earlier, we had met Spanish brothers, Carlos and Roberto, in the afternoon, a few drinks with singing and dancing in the streets. The locals joined in with us, the musician on the corner gave up his guitar for Roberto to play for us. An impromptu fiesta! With a loose plan we were to meet them again later but in true Spanish fashion, time means nothing so we made our own plans for the evening.

We started with a stroll around the streets looking for a likely Tapas Bar and found a great place full of locals and pilgrims. And before long, we ran into Tiago and Alexandra again. The Tapas was great, the wine flowed freely, the atmosphere was fantastic. We all wanted to drink queimada again, so we did. The barman didn't burn the drink for very long so it was more potent which encouraged us to go into the disco and dance the night away. The night went so quickly that we weren't back to our hotel until after 3am! Only 3 hours sleep. Strewth!

The morning was a blur. Sylke and I said our goodbyes at the bus stop and I went back to hotel to sleep off last night's partying. The day was quiet for me. I was taking the 22:30 overnight train to Madrid. It was also a very sad day, knowing that the Camino was truly over.

Next morning, I'm in Madrid! Crikey!

While on the Camino in Logrono, I met a lovely lady, Nuria. She had invited me to visit with her family in Madrid. She lives in a fabulous house in the suburbs and I felt welcomed into her home very quickly by the entire family. The plan was to stay with her for a month or so, help her children with their english and also study spanish while I'm there.

I wish I could tell and show you all the places of Madrid but it didn't work out that way. My visa didn't have too much time left and I spent 3 days looking for ways to extend my tourist visa or obtain a study visa to stay for longer. A resounding no from the final government department and I find myself wondering where to go outside of EU. So once I bought a flight out to Morocco there was only a couple of days left to look around.

So what better way to check out Madrid
Hmmm...after the queimadaHmmm...after the queimadaHmmm...after the queimada

...the first night. Me, Tiago, Alexandra, Sylke and Jennifer.
at night than from a side car. Now don't ask me what the bike was, I couldn't tell you. Doesn't matter to me...what fun though. My hosts took me to their fave tapas bars and finally a restaurant with a southern flavour and flamenco dancing late into the night. The atmosphere of night time Madrid is electric. The Spanish are such social people and they don't need an excuse to start a fiesta.

There was no sleep for me and my taxi was booked for 4.30am for the airport. I'll miss Spain and her people. I'm leaving with so much more to see and do there, but I'll be back one day, for sure.




Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

DSC03292DSC03292
DSC03292

Tiago and Alexandra are our new Portuguese friends
2nd night shenanigans2nd night shenanigans
2nd night shenanigans

2nd night queimada was much stronger. Less burning, more dancing.
A special exhibitionA special exhibition
A special exhibition

The serious side of Spongebob Squarepants


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb