Return to Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 10th 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Madrid - September 10-12



After 2 brief nights in Barcelona, I took the metro to the main train station (Barcelona Sants) planning to just buy my ticket there, as I hadn’t figured out a better option previously. Upon arrival I saw that there were hourly trains to Madrid but the signs indicated many had sold out, or were restricted to VIP passengers. I got to the ticket window and asked for my ticket, and was asked if I wanted business class and I shook my head.

The attendant then seemed to be searching for a ticket, and I was thinking I may have a long wait for an available train. However, he said that business class was 40%!o(MISSING)ff, making it only 9 euros more than 2nd class so I eagerly said “yes thanks”. It was tough heading all the way to the front of the train to carriage 1 to enjoy comfy leather seats, full coffee and lunch service, and a very attentive team of attendants (who even moved the woman and crying baby sitting opposite me). The train was a fast one and reached Madrid in just under 3 hours. I could get used to this style of travel.

The Hotel was not far from the station and so I was settled in before long. It was good to have some time to wander the streets of Madrid this time. I saw the Prado Art Gallery from the outside but decided to go to the Thyssen Bornemisza gallery instead. There was a Matisse special exhibition there as well as the collection that normally resides there.

I also went to the Retiro park which was cool and had beautiful gardens. The streets of Madrid are wide and show off the beautiful buildings.

I transferred to the hotel that I had stayed in previously, via the metro which was very crowded. The group meeting went well, with our Spanish leader and a group of 12 Australians (one is English but moved to Australia 2 years ago). Dinner was a really nice restaurant with linen table clothes and napkins (our leader explained that the Spanish are a bit snobbish when it comes to eating or dressing) and we had some paella made using water for the stock that was shipped from Valencia (home of paella) to ensure that it was the best.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb