Madrid, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 15th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Madrid, Spain



On Friday 21 August, I flew to Madrid to commence my travels through the Spain. Spain has been one place I’ve wanted to go in like forever. To travel through it was amazing to say the least! I started and ended my journey in Madrid.

Madrid - well what a place. It was nothing at all of what I expected. I had previously been to Barcelona, which was amazing, but Madrid didn’t really do that much for me at first glance. I was prepared for it to be expensive and to some degree unsafe. But besides all the not so pleasant side of my Madrid experience, like being followed by two men or having 7 of the people in my hostel get mugged at knife point at the hostel pub crawl; I really did have a great time!

Travelling through Madrid alone and then with new found friends, really allowed me to get the full experience of what the city has to offer! I saw most of the sights, including Madrid’s coat-of-arms (a bear standing against a strawberry tree); went to the Plaza Mayor (main square of Madrid); went to the ham museum and ate a ham & cheese croissant for 1 euro & drank a glass of wine for 1 euro (lunch & dinner); visited the Cathedral & Royal Palace (over 2,000 rooms); saw many sights on the hop on hop off bus (both loops); saw the city by night until 5am with a great new friend; experienced 40+ degrees heat in the day; visited the temple; ate yummy tapas & drank lots of vino and sangria; and of course did lots of shopping!

All in all, I really had an awesome time in Madrid and met really some great people. 



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Cathedral The Cathedral
The Cathedral

Star jumps! hehe


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb