Wannabe Madrilena


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 7th 2009
Published: September 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Right now I’m sitting on my terrace on Calle Seco, still trying to get used to the fact that I am now a resident of Madrid. Officially. Opened a bank account and everything. I do not have Internet in my place as of YET, but once I do… I’ll be able to get back in touch with people so rumors won’t start about how I was wisked away by some smooth talking Madrileno in my first week here (we’re waiting for that to happen in month 2 of Liz’s Madrid stay).

Mom just flew back to the states this AM. The goodbye was probably the hardest I’ve ever had to say. I had been dreading it this whole time, getting inconsolable about it. But somehow? I got through it, and so did she…a small miracle for both of us. Mom and I just got so close during her stay here, and with her gone, I am this discombobulated mix of thankful for my family, excited to be living my dream in full color, and uncontrollably homesick. Somewhere between the stress of finding un piso alquiler, learning that aseo also means bathroom, and losing ourselves on the orderly streets of Madrid, our relationship completely transformed. I guess when you only know one other person in a 10,000 + mile radius, things like that happen. The best night was our rash decision at 22:30 to buy a jug of 1.60 euro sangria (we were so giggly, I’m pretty sure the vendor thought we were already tipsy or just bipolar), open some Spanish peanuts, and sit on the terrace observing the activity of an average Sunday night Madrid-style. I got my mom to stay up past 11, try the complimentary digestivos offered after meals (she informed me that protocol dictates you SIP the shots, not throw them back like a college student... whoops), she convinced me to start eating fish again (now I guess I’m just your average flexitarian) and learn that things really do all work out in the end (I’m not homeless, I have a bank account here, and I even have a cell phone for my one friend Jose Luis The Landlord to call).

Interesting things I’ve noticed about Spain:
Bugs are a rarity. I’ve seen a total of 3 since I’ve been here. I keep my all the terrace doors and windows open all day and all night, with no bugs to show for it. Reason enough for me to permanently move here.
You can never drink enough. It’s a desert here and the FDA’s recommended 8 glasses a day would get you through late morning...if you’re lucky.
Either I’ve gotten significantly uglier, or Spanish men are more respectable than Italian men. I can walk down the street without getting VERBALLY harassed.
There are more women police officers here than in the US. From what I’ve seen, it seems to be about half and half, which is a shock considering that Spain is largely a masculine culture.
Madrid is CLEAN. The trash gets picked up every other night, and the Spanish are meticulous about dividing up their cardboard, plastic, glass, and organic products. Take note, World.
Everyone is stick thin. I am actually average here. With all the walking they do and the healthy eating, these people have the food thing down pat. However, I do cringe whenever I see a McDonald’s or KFC. One McDonald’s place had a walk-thru (as opposed to a drive-thru).
Fashion wise, anything goes here. In Italy, it looked like people had walked directly off the runway, sporting edgy, fashion-forward looks whereas here, you find much less of the high fashion and more of a casual look (they still have Americans completely beat in this sense). In short, from what I’ve seen, just about anything goes.
They love their Nutella.



Song of the entry: Lioness by Obidah Parker--a twisted song, but the most raw interpretation of love sickness I’ve ever heard.


I promise the next entry will come sooner! With Internet it will be easier....

I miss everyone from home so much more than I ever thought I would. If you’re of my own flesh and blood, I miss you and love you more than ever.
PS... keep me updated with your lives! I’m turning over a new leaf and becoming a good email-er, so email me!

Advertisement



7th September 2009

so glad to hear its going well!
Hey boo! Super excited to hear from you/hear it was so great...please take some pictures for me since I seem to be permanantly stuck in the states. How is the food there? and when does your program start?
7th September 2009

Good-byes
Reading about your good-bye with mom took me back 6 years ago to dropping her off at the San Diego airport after moving out there. I had just graduated, we drove across country together, and I remember life was crazy - just engaged, scared to death of checking into work onboard my ship, I had Meg out there but no place to live (I couch-hopped and lived out of my car for 2 months before we moved into an apartment). It was really hard to say bye to Mom for me too. I remember those feelings but I also I remember the excitement, the anticipation, and the recognition of the fact that I was living a significant time in my life, just as you are. Embrace that, little sister, and live to the fullest. I love you and am so proud of you!
7th September 2009

Hi Lizzy! Very nice entry.... glad that you've become a pescetarian and are enjoying the abundant fresh Mediterranean fish- yummy calamari. Miss you too kiddo.
8th September 2009

Welcome
Hi I´m Ruben i´m spanish and live in Madrid, i would like to know you to exchange english-spanish and if you want i can to show you Madrid or is there anything else i can help you. My email is rubenrfer@yahoo.es i hope to know you.

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb