Back with old friends.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
March 24th 2009
Published: May 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had not realised how much I had missed being with old friends. It has been great to meet so many new people from all walks of life while I was away but it is really really nice to be back with people who have known you for years.

I met Eli at University when I started 13 years ago (god that scares me!). He married Berta who is from Madrid and set up home there with her. I just missed their wedding as it was 2 months after I left for Australia, 6 years ago and I have not seen them since.

Robin, who most of you know now lives in Australia but me, Robin and Eli have all known each other since then. Robin just so happened to be in London with work so it was great timing and he was able to come over to Madrid for a long weekend.

When you see friends you have not seen for years it seems just like you saw each other yesterday. That is the reason for this european part of my trip. To see my good old friends who are scattered all around as it is so difficult when you are in Australia.

Eli lives on some farmland just outside of Madrid. He has a great house and Berta's family live just downstairs so it meant lots of Spanish long lunches in the sunshine next to the swimming pool and walks in the country. I am getting so well fed. I was never actually hungry once. The whole of spanish culture seems to revolve around food and we had the traditional paellas done in the huge pans and home made everything with lots of wine to wash it all down. The weather was fantastic at a nice 25 degrees and sunny most days.

Eli is an english teacher but obviously speaks fluent spanish and we have made a pact that when I get back to Australia he will teach me spanish via skype. I actually learnt a lot just by being here. His children were teaching me quite a bit too. At the age of 4 and 6 they are both bi-lingual.

In true Robin style he managed to miss his flight back to the UK even though he was at the airport in plenty of time (he just didn't go to the gate earlier enough!) so we got an extra day together and Robiin and I were able to go to the airport together for me to fly to Switzerland and him to finally get back to London.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

My new jobMy new job
My new job

How great it is to be somewhere you can eat anything you want. The tapas is amazing in Madrid.
Tapas BarTapas Bar
Tapas Bar

The tapas bars are also amazing. All of them are decorated so ornately.
Indian Cooking lessons in MadridIndian Cooking lessons in Madrid
Indian Cooking lessons in Madrid

We were lucky enough to have a friends mum come over from Yorkshire and cook us an authentic Indian Curry. Living in Australia I have really really really missed this. It was delicious.
Transport in MadridTransport in Madrid
Transport in Madrid

is clean, runs on time and really reliable
More cowsMore cows
More cows

This one is a naughty one!
Look closelyLook closely
Look closely

I can't believe what they sell in vending machines in Madrid!! And no, I did not buy one!
The PradoThe Prado
The Prado

Yes, I did something cultural more than eating tapas and drinking wine. Saw the Flaming June in real life and the Greco exhibition.
Enjoying more tapasEnjoying more tapas
Enjoying more tapas

Me and Bobby relaxing following a cultural afternoon.
Truely appreciating home lifeTruely appreciating home life
Truely appreciating home life

Following months of hostels it is really nice to sit on the floor in front of a log fire, watching tv with a glass of red wine.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb