And so classes begin...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
July 1st 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Outside my RoomOutside my RoomOutside my Room

So, let's start with the positives - I have a balcony.
Well, one short half-day after getting to Madrid, our classes started. I'm taking three classes from three Spanish Law Professors. They all have really impressive credentials - 2 are partners at global lawfirms (who teach on the side for a different prospective) and the other one cancelled the first class (clearly a slacker). Actually, he was doing something in D.C. because he is an advisor to the government and couldn't get back in time for the first class.

Interestingly, the professors were very nice and apologized for their poor English skills. I think that this is rather ironic - they were speaking perfect English, but even as partners at global lawfirms they were apologizing to law students. I just can't really see that happening at home. But I think it's a reflection of the Spanish culture - most people are very polite. Even using my broken-Spanish, people tend to take the time to help you find your way.

After class ended we had a scavenger-hunt through Madrid. Fun in theory, but very very hot in practice. My team opted to walk around for a while before grabbing a table at the Plaza Mayor, enjoying Sangria in lieu of running
Outside my RoomOutside my RoomOutside my Room

And a pool view.
around and taking crazy pictures infront of random places. Oh, it's worth mentioning that we all had to wear distinctive "Hi, I'm a tourist" t-shirts - they sported a lovely map of Spain and colored in yellow and red. It also clearly identified us as students; we got a few comments. Fortunately, whatever they said was not taught in my Spanish classes, so I really have no idea what they said.

I finally uploaded some pictures, hope you enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My RoomMy Room
My Room

Part of my room.
My RoomMy Room
My Room

Other part of my room.
The BathroomThe Bathroom
The Bathroom

Ok, I realize that taking a picture of the bathroom is odd, but there's a good reason. This comode is so close to the wall that you have to sit sideways or one-cheeked. I'm a big fan, if you can't tell.
Our Entry WayOur Entry Way
Our Entry Way

Nothing too special.
Dorm HallDorm Hall
Dorm Hall

Ok, so it doesn't look any different from other dorms. But this one is in Spain.
StaircaseStaircase
Staircase

I'm a big fan - it's a huge spiral staircase and just looks really cool.
Random OutisideRandom Outiside
Random Outiside

No idea what this was, but it looked cool!
More of thatMore of that
More of that

Still cool building
Man on horse.Man on horse.
Man on horse.

It's a statute in the middle of the Sol Plaza.
Another Cool BuildingAnother Cool Building
Another Cool Building

Hopefully, before I leave I will replace "Cool" with the actual names of the buildings.
Scavenger HuntScavenger Hunt
Scavenger Hunt

See, we participated. In case you can't tell, we're next to a pharmacy looking robust. Yeah.
MoreMore
More

I'm sure this is a super-important building.
More 2More 2
More 2

Here's a better view of it.
Ah. The Ham Museum.Ah. The Ham Museum.
Ah. The Ham Museum.

I thought this was quite hilarious... in Spain, they really do love their ham!
Still the Ham Museum.Still the Ham Museum.
Still the Ham Museum.

Just in case you forgot.
More HamMore Ham
More Ham

The door to the Ham Museum.
Cool BuildingCool Building
Cool Building

Another one on the way to Plaza Mayor.
Crazy BuildingCrazy Building
Crazy Building

And I thought New York was creative...
Street SceneStreet Scene
Street Scene

All the streets are really quaint and just remind me Europe. I suppose that makes sense.


3rd July 2008

LOVE the toilet picture. These are details of Spain that every traveller should know! Also the one of Sarah in the elevator. You should really have your own travel show. Like Rick Steves, only with way more sarcasm! Have fun, play well with others, and talk to LOTS of strangers (especially if they're male and Spanish!)
4th July 2008

Wow this is all so amazing! You're so lucky to have this opportunity! I miss you a lot! But soon we'll be together...in Paris!...and put up our own pictures!!
8th July 2008

:) I can't wait to meet you!!
9th July 2008

You know, I think every travel blog needs a little sarcasm. These are the little things that we just don't realize we take for granted at home. :)

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb